Skip to content

There’s a new kid in town

August 1, 2016
Blue Aprilia Mojito knockoff

Orin O’Neill photo

This turned up at the foothill villa a few weeks ago.

While it looks like an Aprilia Mojito, it is in fact one of the many Chinese knockoffs of that retro scooter. I don’t know for sure why there are so many such knockoffs, but I’m going to guess the genuine article’s bodywork is sourced in China. (If you know, leave a comment below)

I know it’s a 150 because it wears a typical Chinese scooter model number: MC-150-something-something. I could find no model name or emblem, but the scoot is brand-new and shiny. No scratches, yet. I don’t know which of my neighbors owns it, at least not yet.

Oh, and it gets ridden daily. Well, the weather has been sunny and warm lately.

One Comment
  1. August 4, 2016 4:57 pm

    Key West is packed with these things. I thought they were Lances or some other unmemorable brand. They do the job.

Comments are closed.