Skip to content

All over the map

May 10, 2016
by

Old-skool GPS

It’s been a while since I’ve added a map to the World-famous Scootin’ Old Skool Maps page. Guess what? There is a new map, which you can read about after the jump.

At the top of the list, you’ll notice a new map containing a route from Portland to Eugene, Oregon. The map is based on printed directions given to participants in Top Dead Center SC’s recent Oregon 100 rally.

The reason I’d taken a hiatus from adding maps was due to Google Maps’ tendency to not work the same way twice. That and its lack of the ability to let you save a map generated by a request for directions.

However, I’ve decided the one rally I will do in 2017 is the Oregon 100. TDC SC received considerable praise for the organization, the route and the extracurricular activities associated with the rally. It sounded like a great time was had by all.

The route, suggested by Joe Barthlow, sounded like a good one, too. And I haven’t been on a major road trip since Portland to Spokane and back in, what, 2009?

Okay, I’ll draw a map.

Unfortunately, drawing a map on Google Maps remains as tedious, clunky and mostly counter-intuitive as it ever was. Worse, when I went to add it to the page, I discovered the links for all the other maps were broken (Google changed the URLs on all of them! 😀 ).

Well, I’m chilling in the sniff at the moment, so I had plenty of time to fix everything. Which it now is. Everything works! (Hey, if you ever discover a broken link anywhere on this here blog, drop me a line and lemme know, ‘k?)

Stay tuned. There might be more maps real soon. I have lotsa time on my hands.

Comments are closed.