Skip to content

Collector plate special

July 15, 2013

WA Collector Vehicle plate

I admit, I have a hard time thinking of things from the 1970s and 80s as “vintage.” But then, I also find it odd that oldies radio stations are now playing songs from the 1990s.

Be that as it may, scooters from that era are eligible to be registered as Collector Vehicles, which among other things gets you a special license plate. (In the U.S. and Canada, anyway.)

Of course, you’ll want to check with your local motor-vehicle authority about requirements, fees and what not. But in the state of Washington, where I live, the most attractive thing about having a collector plate (a period-correct plate is also allowed) is that you pay the fee once. Unlike standard plates, no renewal is necessary.

Of course, there’s a catch. Unlike New York and California, which place no restrictions on the use of the vehicle, Washington state law limits the use of the vehicle to specific circumstances.

Most are both obvious and likely: on your way to a club meeting, parades, special excursions (i.e., a group ride to a rally).

But one of those circumstances particluarly stands out. “For the pleasure of others without compensation.”

I cannot recall any time I’ve ridden any of my scooters when someone didn’t honk, wave, give a thumbs-up or I-love-it hand sign, with a big grin on their face. The PX was particularly grin-worthy. It could therefore be inferred that I gave these folks a bit of pleasure, and received no compensation (it would’ve been difficult to take money from them if it were offered). So, had any of my scooters been eligible to display a collector plate, it would appear I complied with the law.

I’m not a lawyer, okay? I have said, and will say now, I make every effort to comply with all applicable laws related to owning and riding a motor scooter, and so should you. And that includes paying all taxes and fees the place I live requires. Do what you will with the information presented here. Favicon

One Comment
  1. July 24, 2013 6:34 pm

    Oh, hey… Orin is BACK!

    I was afraid the excitement of Blue vs. Grey II had done him in. 🙂

Comments are closed.