Skip to content

A mighty wind

January 7, 2013
by
Fallen scooter

Orin O’Neill photos

It’s been rainy in Bellingham (which I’ll take over snow any day). It also gets rather windy.

The scooter in these pix (which lives at the foothill villa) is a Dongfang Sunny, which actually got ridden occasionally. Until October, anyway. In November, the cover appeared.

I had a cover for the GTS, but I never used it. As I said, it gets windy. And under those circumstances, a cover makes a great sail.

Fallen scooter, later

The scooter was righted, but had fallen again a few days later.

If you don’t have a roof under which to park your scooter, a cover can be a good idea. However, the owner of this scooter got a cheap one. Which, as you can see, has soaked through. Which pretty much defeats the purpose of a cover.

Spend a few bucks for a good one that at least claims to be water-repellant, if not waterproof. And if you can’t park your scoot in a place protected from the wind, tether it to something solid. This one eventually got tied to one of the posts in the background.

Of course, modern scooters by quality manufacturers are quite able to sit in the weather uncovered. The GTS, after all, was parked outdoors for most of the four years I owned it, and it always fired right up and ran flawlessly (well, except when the battery died). A cover may not be necessary.

Of course, if you put your scooter away for the winter, add some fuel stabilizer to the gas and otherwise do what your owner’s manual says to prepare it to sit for an extended period.

I’m quite sure the owner of this scooter didn’t bother with any of that. It will be interesting to see if it starts come spring. Favicon

2 Comments
  1. circleblue permalink
    January 7, 2013 6:08 pm

    My Symba has blown over twice at work. I’ve learned if I can’t tether it or get it out of the wind to at least face it into the wind. I’m very aware of how lucky I am to have ride and even more lucky to have a garage to keep my scooters in. I am very grateful.
    ~Keith

  2. January 17, 2013 1:36 am

    It’s expensive, around $450 delivered but a folding shell looks amazing. One of the advantages of a stilt house is the 800 square feet of covered parking under the house to keep the sun off. The advantage of working at night is…not parking in the sun all day.

Comments are closed.