Skip to content

Merry Yule Scoot

December 23, 2012
Seattle Children's

At Seattle Children’s Hospital (Orin O’Neill photos)

In one form or another, Yule Scoot has been happening in Seattle for a long, long time. In case you’re new to this here blog, here’s the rundown: Meet somewhere, ride somewhere to buy toys (and other stuff), donate stuff to Children’s Hospital (and occasionally, other worthy recipients).

Andrew (“Danger is my middle name”) was this year’s event organizer, and he said it’d be okay to show up in a car. So, the Fourth Estate got to be a scooter.

Since the weather was looking iffy, I invited Safety Ed to ride shotgun. Stop by on the way to the meetup at Café Racer, he said, I’ll make a decision about riding then.

Safety Ed

As you can see, he decided to ride the scooter. The ET4 had been in the shed since October, so it was overdue for some exercise. See you at the Racer, I said.

A small group of hardy souls left for the Lake City Fred Meyer just as the sun was (briefly) peeking out from behind the clouds.

Lake City Way

While the thermometer showed ~40°F, there was a chill in the air that made me grateful to have a heater. And, I reminded myself, it was colder and rainier in Bellingham.

We made a beeline for the toy department, which to my surprise was up an escalator (I’d never been to the Lake City Freddy’s). Some folks who couldn’t make the ride gave Andrew money, or left stuff to donate at the meetup.

Full of presents

Everyone was grateful for the Fourth Estate’s ample, dry cargo space. Especially since the rain had returned.

Since we’d started late, and needed to get to Seattle Children’s before 5:00 pm, we took the direct route from FM to Sand Point Way and the hospital. As always, they were grateful for our donations and curious about our group.

We then said our goodbyes and headed for other activities. As I say, I was glad to cage it this time, but would sure like to have a scooter for the next one. Maybe Santa will leave a surprise on Tuesday. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. John Kilroy permalink
    December 23, 2012 3:17 pm

    Nice job Happy Holidays from Chicago

  2. December 25, 2012 6:17 am

    Very cool. Have a Happy Holiday from Tampa, Fla. (where 40 is considered cold).

  3. December 26, 2012 8:20 am

    Orin,

    Hope you had a fine Christmas and are all set for a great New Year too. I could definitely relate to the positive feelings about finding yourself inside a heated car versus being out on a scooter in the cold. Since my Vespa has been patiently awaiting repair I’ve been in the cage enjoying the luxurious heat blowing in my face.

    I have to admit though the few times of late I’ve ridden my daughter’s Vino in the cold the sharp knife of coldness that pushes into my neck as air sneaks in is a bit startling. I’ve gotten out of the habit of gearing up and riding in the cold at the moment and the lure of the cage is strong…

    Steve Williams
    Scooter in the Sticks

  4. December 30, 2012 6:20 am

    I guess the car got fixed. I am waiting for my Bonneville to get new valves and for my P200 to arrive, all interrupted by “the holidays,” and that has left me flogging my wife’s ET4 which is a lovely work horse and great fun. Were I forced to drive all the time I should get into a funk I think.

Comments are closed.