Skip to content

American Scooter

July 12, 2012

NOSC logo

Aside from red envelopes that appear in my mailbox every fourth day, I don’t have TV. Haven’t had access to it since I left Portland, which has upsides (I’m literally wearing out my library card), and downsides (all these shows everyone else seems to be watching have me curious). Oh, the reason there’s no TV at my house is an inability to afford cable and a lack of a signal my $25 analog TV can receive. Just so you know.

So-called “reality” TV dominates the Vast Wasteland these days because it costs almost nothing to produce vs. scripted dramas or comedies. And producers of said shows realized early on that shows like this one, this one, and especially this one are as compelling as a really bad car wreck.

However, the means to produce broadcast-quality video can be had for the price of a smartphone with a 2-year text/voice/data contract, so it should come as no surprise that someone would do a scooter-themed TV series: New Orleans Scooter Cooperative’s American Scooter turns a video eye on the scooter scene that is, happily, humorous without being gross. Okay, there are a few bits of NSFW in the beginning of Webisode one, but nothing like, say, Lizard Lick Towing. In fact, if you’re thinking of doing a restoration/reanimation, each episode can be very informative.

You can watch Webisode number one below. To see them all, go to the New Orleans Scooter Coop’s YouTube channel. Their (attempted) trip to Amerivespa in the bus will surely make a great episode (or three). Can’t wait for it!


 
People have asked when there’s going to be Scootin’ Old Skool TV. I’ll let you know. Favicon

Comments are closed.