Skip to content

Seeing my way clear

April 30, 2012

The GTS’ windscreen was looking, well, not quite as transparent as it once was. There’s no money in the budget for a replacement, which really wasn’t called for anyway. Luckily, I had a solution.

Scratch remover

The Fourth Estate’s polycarbonate headlight lenses had become frosty after many years of exposure to the elements. I happened upon a seriously cheap and easy solution to this problem at the local hardware store.

Making the Fourth Estate’s headlight lenses clear again still meant there was quite a bit of the stuff left over. And the GTS’ windscreen is made of the same material as the headlight lenses.

For that matter, so is the eye shield on my full-face helmet.

I reached into the rag bag and got to work.

The easiest way to do the job on the windscreen is to remove it from the struts that attach to the headset. In most cases, you’ll need an Allen wrench, though sometimes there are Philips screws.

In my lap

Pour some on a soft cloth, rub (how hard depends on how opaque) in a circular motion in a small area, repeat until the entire side of the screen is done. Wait for the polish to dry to a haze, and wipe it off with a dry soft cloth. Then do the other side.

Dirty rag

While there was a noticeable improvement in the windscreen’s clarity, the camera couldn’t pick it up. But as you can see, there’s a lot of residue on the rag.

I’m on a roll! I did the same to the eye shield, and noticed a similar improvement. A new eye shield for my HJC helmet is 24 bucks, or thereabouts… polishing will definitely extend its life.

Kit Scratch Out™’s primary mission is to remove fine scratches from clear-coat paint finishes, which oddly enough new Vespas all have. There was a place on the upper surface of the right rear quarter panel that was particularly faded and scratched, so I hit that, too.

Rear quarter panel

The improvement here was more dramatic. And easier to photograph. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. April 30, 2012 2:10 pm

    Hey Orin – Have you ever tried “Plexus” plastic cleaner and polish on your vespa windshield. If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend you do. It’s hands down the best plastics cleaner out there. Everyone I know that tries Plexus falls in love with the anti-static finish it puts on plastics. I don’t mean for this to sound like a commercial, just want to tell you what works the best for me.

  2. April 30, 2012 9:11 pm

    Mark, I’ve not tried Plexus, but it’s something to keep in mind when I use up the bottle of Scratch Out. If anyone else has a recommendation, by all means, leave a comment!

  3. May 2, 2012 6:30 pm

    I have my first windshield on my new (used) motorcycle! I’ll have to file away this info for future use!

  4. JamesJohn permalink
    May 5, 2012 10:43 am

    I agree, Plexus is fantastic, I have used it for years and never thought to try it on the Prius. I will and update. Thanks Orin!

Comments are closed.