Skip to content

Scootin’ HC to the M to the C-style

April 2, 2012
HCMC scooter

Nobody scoots old-skool like the Vietnamese (Uyen Khuong photo)

When it comes to scootin’ old-skool, few in this world top the Vietnamese. For the vast majority of them, their scooter or motorbike is a beast of burden, not a precious fetish object. They ride because they have places to go, and especially, people or stuff to carry.

Uyen “Winn” Khuong is a Vietnamese U.S. expat now living in Vietnam (her previous residence was New Jersey). She offers 19 pics of the most seriously overburdened scooters and motorbikes she saw in July, 2011.

She notes that riding four-up will now get you pulled over, though the matter can usually be resolved on the spot if some money just, uh, happens to be wedged into your ID book.

Ho Chi Minh City (formerly Saigon) teems with 2-wheelers because owning and operating a car is hella expensive, beyond the means of most people. I’ve told myself it’s a place I need to visit sometime before I die. Anthony Bourdain loves the food. I love the traffic. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. anita permalink
    April 2, 2012 3:03 pm

    It was a trip to Vietnam that aroused our curiosity about the scootering life. We took the motorcycle endorsement class shortly after our return home and have not had a moment of regret since! Vietnam is amazing and I would encourage a visit for anyone.

  2. April 2, 2012 4:18 pm

    Wow, great pics. I have to agree with the writer though the puppies in the cage make me sad, but it is what it is.

    I thought it interesting to see a Circle K in the pic of the scooter with the potted plants. It was just so unexpected.

  3. April 2, 2012 6:01 pm

    Thanks for the re-post and shout out Orin! When I get my missing 20th shot, I’ll let you know! Cheers!

  4. April 2, 2012 6:38 pm

    Trobairitz, 7-Elevens are numerous in SE Asia. So are KFCs. When I was last in London, there were Krispy Kremes everywhere. It’s a small world…

Comments are closed.