Skip to content

Little lavender houses for you and me

February 24, 2012
Lavender house

There is little fear of color in Bellingham (Orin O'Neill photos)

I used to be a homeowner. When the real estate bubble burst, I managed to get out of my Seattle condo at a profit. I’ve always considered home ownership a sound financial move, and still do. And Bellingham is a much more affordable place than Seattle.

In fact, Bellingham is getting even more affordable (well, if you have money, or can qualify for a mortgage). And probably will continue to do so in this tanked economy.

Green house

While there are more than a few McMansions, most houses here are modest. And many of their owners are not the slightest bit afraid of color. This one’s just down the street from the foothill villa. Very easy to find, for sure.

Pea green house

This one is on one of my Fourth Dimensional routes. Stucco is rather common here; in Seattle people tend to turn their noses up at such houses, considering them too Californian. Done right, stucco holds up extremely well, especially in the stormy weather common in northwest Washington.

Purple house

There are lots of purple houses in Bellingham. Purple’s one of my favorite colors, and if I had a house, I’d seriously consider painting it that color.

Cobalt blue house

I can’t decide if this one is cobalt blue or ultramarine blue. Whatever color, it’s also an easy house to find on its block.

Blue house

Plain old blue is a popular color as well.

Red house

This color scheme, brick red with yellow-orange trim, is a rather popular one, even in neighborhoods where there are associations that have rules about what color you can paint your house. Maybe because it’s not purple?

Pink house

As John Mellencamp sang, there are lots of little pink houses for you and me. I’d repaint my house if it were pink, however. Favicon

One Comment
  1. February 24, 2012 5:05 pm

    I just love this post. It reminds me of the first time I was in Oregon and saw so many houses just like this glowing in the gloomy rain. Thanks for the tour, Orin!

Comments are closed.