Skip to content

Pride of ownership

February 10, 2012
GTS front fender

Paint chips on the GTS' front fender (Orin O'Neill photos)

The most recent sunny day had me thinking, maybe I should clean the GTS up a bit.

Quite honestly, I don’t remember when it last got washed. I know it was in Bellingham, and I know it was at a self-service car wash because the foothill villa’s owners don’t allow tenants to wash their vehicles.

I also remember washing the GTS didn’t make it look any better than when it was dirty. As broke as I am, saving a few bucks’ worth of quarters is a good thing.

But the sun was out, so I thought, what the heck. I grabbed the Windex and a big wad of paper towels, and went to work.

The paint chips on the front fender were a bit of a surprise. I suppose I could touch them up, but the front fender of a Vespa GTS is made of plastic. It won’t rust. If the rest of the paint peels off, well, the hardware store has Krylon formulated specifically for plastic. I could try another color. Orange, perhaps? Or yellow.

Moss

Your eyes are not deceiving you—that’s moss. Well, except for about five months in West Seattle, the GTS has lived outdoors. And this is the Pacific Northwest, after all. At least it’s not mold. I wonder if bleach would be the best thing to clean it?

Even if I had the moolah to restore the GTS to pristine condition, I can’t think of a reason to do that. It’s been dropped on both sides, and the neighborhood cats in Portland ran roughshod over the seat upholstery. The headset cover has maybe half the screws its supposed to, and the little covers over the brake master cylinders are held (more or less) in place by the rubber things on the mirrors, the Allen screws and their receptacles long gone.

That the GTS is well on its way to becoming a rat bike is actually quite liberating. I don’t have to worry about it. The important stuff works. It runs and rides beautifully, and that’s what counts.

As one of the foothill villa maintenance guys said, it has “character.” Favicon

2 Comments
  1. Tracy permalink
    February 10, 2012 3:31 pm

    I’m happy to know I’m not the only one with mold issues 🙂

  2. February 13, 2012 2:11 pm

    Who wants a Garage Queen, anyway?

Comments are closed.