Skip to content

50 degrees and New Year’s

January 1, 2012
Two Ps, two big Vespas

Here's the group (Orin ONeill photos)

The sun was shining. The GTS said it was 50°F, and it actually felt like 50°F. Happy 2012! Time for a ride.

SOB Tom convened a ride on this first day of the new year. Todd and Dorcie were the only others present when we left the Sehome Village Starbucks. One would have thought the 2:00 pm meetup time would have been enough to recover from hangovers and such, but hey…

Todd had his new P200, freshly painted by Maaco ($500, including the wheels) and engine-rebuilt. It looks nice, and seems to run pretty well.

We headed out of town, along the shore of Lake Whatcom and thru points unknown (to me, anyway) before Todd suggested stopping at the Fork at Agate Bay.

Parked at the Fork

I must say, it’s rather odd to find a yuppie bistro (prices on the menu are integers without dollar signs) this far out in the sticks. To me, anyway.

Parked at the Fork

Our refreshments finished, Todd and Dorcie headed for home while Tom and I made our way downtown to 20th Century Bowling.

Tom had told everyone we’d be there at 3:30 if people wanted to bowl but not ride. However, nobody was there waiting, so Tom and I got a lane and shoes and bowled a couple games.

It had been a while since either of us had bowled. I was up to my usual form, throwing strikes and gutter balls in roughly equal numbers. And I always follow a spare with only a pin or two.

Though dark, it was not particularly cold when we left for home. Last year at this time, there was snow on the ground, with lows in the teens overnight. We wonder if the full force of winter is waiting for February, or even March, to come upon us. I dunno, I wouldn’t mind more of this kind of weather.

Happy New Year. Hope your 2012 will be a good one. Favicon

2 Comments
  1. David Masse permalink
    January 2, 2012 5:36 am

    Happy new year Orin. With a little luck we’ll get to meet in Vancouver in the spring.

    Warm regards,

    David

  2. January 2, 2012 9:39 am

    We had 57F on Saturday, so we did a rockin’ New Year’s Eve run of my “West Side’s Best Ride.” We had one rider who just got a 125cc (up from 50cc), so we rode a little slower than I usually would, but we still managed to get everyone home before dark, which was my plan.

Comments are closed.