Skip to content

Life is a rock

November 21, 2011
The clubs' jackets

REPRESENT!! (Frank Kuzmanich photos)

It’s been cold lately. Not as cold as last year (overnight lows only got into the mid-20sF), but cold enough. Sunday saw a break in the gray cloud cover, and three local scooter clubs took advantage of it.

Tacoma’s Firkin SC and F**k Yeah SC met Seattle’s Westenders halfway, on Vashon Island.

Point Defiance ferry

The Tacoma crew took the ferry from Point Defiance.

La Playa restaurant

They met up with the Seattle group at the La Playa, which is a few steps away from the Vashon ferry dock.

The Hardware Store

Turnout was 24 scooters and 27 riders. Excellent for a sunny but cold mid-November day.

The group took a leisurely tour of Vashon Island’s back roads, stopping to take in the sights.

Mount Rainier

Mount Rainier was looking majestic, as usual.

Point Robinson lighthouse

The lighthouse at Point Robinson is in a park; the former keepers’ quarters are available for weekend or weeklong stays.

After time spent warming up, the groups headed for home. Later on Facebook, there were lots of jokes about frozen toes and fingers.

Point Robinson lighthouse

The hope was that this might become an annual event. If only it weren’t so cold. Favicon

Frank took a whole bunch more pictures, which you can see here if you’re logged into Facebook. I would love to publish pix and info about your events, no matter where they are. Drop me a line.

2 Comments
  1. Jack Riepe permalink
    November 27, 2011 1:42 pm

    Dear Orin:

    I have no idea what kind of juice these scooters crank out, but wouldn’t it make sense to wear an electric jacket liner that at least ran at 50% capacity for four hours on a lithium battery. These are only about $200.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack/reep
    Twisted Roads

  2. November 27, 2011 1:54 pm

    Jack, I really don’t like the idea of electric *anything* next to my body… I can only picture first-degree burns resulting from a failure of the temperature regulator, or freezing my tukhuis off if the thing quit working altogether. I won’t even use an electric blanket on my bed. And I think I’m just less able to tolerate cold weather as I get older… in weather like we’re having now, for a long trip (this one would’ve been a rather long one) I’d much rather get in the car and crank the heat…

Comments are closed.