Skip to content

On Cairo time

October 14, 2011
The Pyramids

Of course they're visiting the Pyramids... (Cross Egypt Challenge)

I apologize for not finding out about this until it was too late to sign up. When it comes to bucket-list adventures, this one’s got to be at or near the top.

I have always wanted to visit Egypt. Always. I can recall seeing a picture of the Pyramids and the Sphinx when I was in kindergarten or first grade, and being mesmerized ever since.

Touring on a scooter would be the ultimate. For me, anyway.

That is exactly what participants in the Cross Egypt Challenge will be doing, starting today. Their journey begins in Alexandria, and will take in the Pyramids (of course), cross the Gulf of Suez and pass through the Valley of the Kings, among other places.

Someone I know has been to Egypt since the uprising earlier this year, and said there’s really little difficulty for foreign visitors. In fact, this event is intended to promote tourism, among other things.

Hey, if you were able to sign up, get in touch. We’d all love to hear about this (and see pictures). Otherwise, rent the movie Cairo Time. I’m not in the habit of hitting the Pause button when watching movies, but this was an exception—Cairo is a beautiful city. You can see the Pyramids from everywhere. Or so I’m told. Favicon

One Comment
  1. October 14, 2011 6:20 pm

    It seems that there is always an amazing experience available for a scooter rider. I’m glad I’m not independently wealthy, young, footloose, and adventurous. If I were no one would ever see me. I would be on my way to Cairo.

    Cool ride. Thanks for sharing it.

    Steve Williams
    Scooter in the Sticks
    Follow me on Twitter

Comments are closed.