Skip to content

From a galaxy far, far away

August 24, 2011
R2D2 helmet

R2D2 helmet, made by Jenn (Clever Girl photo)

Plain black or white helmets can be so boring. But shredding sportbike graphics and Ed Hardy-influenced scallops are so outré. How does a hip scooterista stand out from the crowd?

Think Star Wars.

Jenn is a Clever Girl who lives in Philadelphia and rides a scooter. I can’t say if the phrase “bring me the head of R2D2” popped into her head, but a half helmet could sure bring that original droid to mind.

I saw Star Wars twice. After seeing it the first time, I thought it was a nice riff on the Errol Flynn pirate movies that played every Saturday afternoon at the local movie theater in my childhood home of San Mateo, Calif.

But when stories of people who’d seen George Lucas’ epic dozens, if not hundreds, of times began to dominate the media, I wondered if I’d missed something. So I spent three bucks (hey, it was the late 1970s) to see it again.

No revelations there. My thoughts about Carrie Fisher being really hot and the film’s production design (it was the first science-fiction movie in which stuff looked used) were unchanged, but otherwise I didn’t get what the fuss was about. I still don’t.

Various R2D2-inspired nicknacks filled store shelves at the time, and unlike other character-themed items they were usually somewhat useful—a wastebasket comes to mind. So does a pencil sharpener. No helmets, however.

You can see more pics of the helmet (and Jenn) here. Jenn posted a how-to, though the possibilities afforded by blue masking tape and a few cans of spray paint are limited only by one’s imagination.

Please remember, a helmet cannot protect any part of your head it does not cover. May the Force be with you. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. August 24, 2011 12:10 pm

    Jenn wore the helmet to Philly’s Geek Awards, where it appears to have been a big hit:
    http://phillyrawrblog.blogspot.com/2011/08/geek-awards.html

  2. mark morris permalink
    August 24, 2011 10:43 pm

    Orin,

    The helmet is indeed kinda cool!
    I saw “Star Wars” when I was 17 or so. I walked out thinking that it was the best movie I had ever seen in my life. I was quite an impressionable young lad back then. ; )

    What really amazes me are the people younger than you or I that saw it first on video and worship it. I think that is actually kind of weird. I still like the movies but feel compelled in a way to not like it as much because of the bizarre nature the younger crowds obsession.

    But to each his own.

    I also really wonder if it is the archetypal hero’s journey motifs that draw these kids in—or is it just because it is space opera with fantastic effects?

  3. August 26, 2011 9:31 am

    I share your view of Carrie Fisher. For whatever reason I really enjoyed the movies. My thought is: Why stop at R2D2? I want a Darth Vader helmet!!

  4. August 26, 2011 6:42 pm

    i’m aging myself. i thought it was a dahlek helmet lacking only the ray gun.

Comments are closed.