Skip to content

82 degrees and sunny

August 20, 2011
tags: ,
by
Motorcycle parking

Look carefully, and you'll see the GTS is in a motorcycle space (Orin O'Neill photos)

While most of the U.S. has been roasting, the Pacific Northwest has barely had a summer, temperature-wise. Seeing 76°F before lunchtime, therefore, was a bit of shock. I needed to do something.

So I went to the Farmer’s Market.

Yeah, yeah, I’ve said I don’t go there much, but I didn’t need groceries. It would be a good day to take in the experience.

Car parking

I wasn’t the only one thinking it would be a nice day to get out. It seemed just about every special-interest car club was out and about today. The Viper pictured is an ACR model, which more or less required only the application of numbers to be race-ready.

Bicycle parking

On a day like this one, most people arrive by bicycle. There are usually as many motorcycles as scooters.

Craftspeople

Roughly half the stalls are occupied by craftspeople, offering such handmade items as clothing, bags and hula hoops. Yes, hula hoops. The hula hoop-walla even has a place to try one out.

The Herald Building in the background

The Farmer’s Market doesn’t take up a whole lot of space, as you can see. The Herald Building looms large over Railroad Avenue, though it’s not super-tall, just up the hill.

The Herald Building in the background

You can see the stall coverings here. While the Depot Market’s main building was built in the shape of the train station that stood here previously, most of the material was recycled from a bridge in Skagit County that was replaced years ago.

Marimba band

Ever since I can remember, I’ve been irresistibly drawn to the sound of a steel drum band. A marimba band, like this one, runs a very close second. The ring tone on my iPhone is called “Marimba.” I would only change it if there’s a steel drum ringtone out there. Which there probably is, I just haven’t been motivated to look for it.

Yellow lab

I thought I’d spied a certain Key West Doggie resting in the shade, but this wasn’t her. It’s a him, the owner told me. I rather liked his idea. It was getting hot. Favicon

2 Comments
  1. Dan Gould permalink
    August 20, 2011 11:11 pm

    A viper in Bellingham, I raced a black ferrari on my P-200 two weeks ago. Well not really raced.

  2. August 21, 2011 9:32 pm

    Cheyenne would love 76 degrees. Today I took her out for a mid day walk and she stretched out on the deck and took a sun bath instead. Suited me at 91 degrees!

Comments are closed.