Skip to content

Nu shoo

August 2, 2011

New tire

It was time for a new rear tire for the GTS. I was thinking of letting it go a bit longer, but Jack’s wife’s recent experience changed my mind.

I decided to go with another Kenda K413. The front one is barely scuffed in (replaced about a year ago), and I don’t like to mix brands or types of tire, especially when there are only two of them.

Unfortunately, I didn’t make a note of when the rear tire was last replaced. I know it’s gone at least 4000 miles; maybe 5000? I don’t know. I do know this one went on at 20840. That’s miles.

Since worn tires can be more vulnerable to punctures, a new donut means one less thing to worry about on the road. We finally have summer, too. Could there be a road trip in the offing? Favicon

4 Comments
  1. August 2, 2011 2:48 pm

    Hi, Just want to know why you went with the Kenda instead of the factory Pirelli? Is there a big difference in performance?

  2. August 2, 2011 3:01 pm

    Mark, there’s no difference in performance, but a huge difference in price: the Kenda retails for $38, while the Pirelli goes for $132. I don’t see any reason to spend more…

  3. August 2, 2011 4:06 pm

    I get the tires for my GT200 from American Motorcycle Tire – http://www.americanmototire.com – I had to buy one in February, they had the Pirelli for $56.98 plus free shipping. Check them out, great service and I got the tire in 2 days.

    PIRELLI GTS24 130/70P-12 “E” REAR TL (03400107) = $56.98

  4. August 2, 2011 4:43 pm

    Just ordered a Vee Rubber 140/70-16 for Bad Penny, from Scooterworks (through the shop, of course) to replace the Kenda (which I can only get from Kymco USA, apparently, and I hate Kymco USA). We can compare notes!

Comments are closed.