Skip to content

78 minutes of summer

July 18, 2011
by

82F sez the GTS

If you live in Western Washington, you’ve probably seen this: “Loading ‘Summer’ 44% complete. Error! Upload incomplete. Resource ‘Summer’ not found. It may have moved, been deleted or changed name. Please try again later.”

While most of the rest of the U.S. is roasting, we in the upper left corner have seen exactly an hour and 18 minutes’ worth as of yesterday.

Today was different. The rain had stopped; an opportunity to add some minutes presented itself, so I took advantage of it.

The Seattlepi.com article defined summer weather as an ambient temperature of 80°F or warmer. And it was for Seattle only; Bellingham is usually a few degrees cooler. Still, last year there were many days in the upper 80s or warmer. At the time I took the pic above, the Weather Channel app reported 69°F, which I assume is the official reading at the airport.

The Central Avenue ship channel

This ship has been moored at the Port of Bellingham since I moved here last year. I get the impression it’s not going anywhere anytime soon. There’s not a whole lot of cargo moving through Bellingham. Not yet, anyway.

My destination was Zuanich Point Park. It’s near the marina, and in addition to cool breezes, it offers a nice view of the city.

Bellingham

You’re looking at Western Washington University, on Sehome Hill. And no, I didn’t Photoshop the grass. It’s still that green. Ordinarily, it wouldn’t be.

Walking on Zuanich

To the west is a paved path for walking and biking. There don’t seem to be nearly as many wacko bicyclists as there were on similar pathways in Seattle.

Boats on land

Go the opposite way, you’ll see that there’s still a lot of maritime-related business being done at the Port.

But the best reason to come out is the breeze off Bellingham Bay. This would be the place to come when it gets really hot. If it gets really hot.

Flying kite

But it’s always a good place to fly a kite. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. Dar permalink
    July 18, 2011 5:49 pm

    Nice pictures! I can’t remember the last time I saw the sun! I love flying kites too, I have a double string micro kite. I haven’t flown for awhile, I’ve been scooting more than anything else in my spare time.

  2. Billy permalink
    July 19, 2011 1:02 pm

    Your Vespa speedo goes to 100mph?

  3. July 19, 2011 6:04 pm

    Yes, Billy, all the big Vespa speedos go to 100 mph. Of course, the scooter doesn’t go that fast (at least not stock)…

Comments are closed.