Skip to content

A mad Lammy Jammy

July 9, 2011
Lambretta passenger

Spotted in a rest area north of Portland (Orin O'Neill photos)

PORTLAND—From time to time, I think I would like to have a Lambretta. This is one of those times.
Lambretta Jamboree 2011 arrived in Portland Friday. So did I. Just barely. But that’s another story.

Since I don’t have a Lambretta, all I could do was watch from the sidelines. And take lots of pictures, of course. See ’em after the jump.

Lammy Jammy was headquartered at the excruciatingly hip Jupiter Hotel (which used to be a Travelodge, FWIW) on Portland’s inner Eastside. The scooters pretty much took the place over.

Jupiter courtyard

There was a vendor midway in the courtyard. You could buy parts, artwork and clothing. This young lady was selling hats.

For Jack riepe

There’s a good-sized contingent of Lambrettas in the Portland metro area (which includes Vancouver, Wash.); there were lots of Washington and British Columbia plates in the crowd. And a few from further afield, like this one.

Vintage Colorado plate

Randy had his newly-revived Lammy on display.

Randy's barn find

Not so long ago, this Lambretta was rotting away in a barn near Spokane. Randy rescued it, and has put it back in running condition. It’s not a Pebble Beach restoration—more like a re-animation. Much less stressful to use as its maker intended.

While you couldn’t have asked for better weather for a group ride, I couldn’t go. ‘Cos I don’t gotz a Lambretta. Favicon

2 Comments
  1. July 11, 2011 1:21 pm

    I got to see a friend’s recent acquisition of a Servetta Jet 200, in excellent shape… and running (!), yesterday. I’ll remember to take better photos, next time.

  2. Jack Riepe permalink
    July 11, 2011 3:11 pm

    Dear Orin:

    Great pictures! Great scooters! Something for everyone in this post tonight. I’d have bought a hat. I liked that gray number in the background with the blue band.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack/reep
    Twisted Roads

Comments are closed.