Skip to content

New helmet: SparX FC-07 Drifter

April 6, 2011
by
helmet

Do you like my new helmet? (Orin O'Neill photo)

I got a new helmet the other day. You may have noticed it’s not a full-face. Allow me to explain.

Yes, I tell people they really should be wearing full-face helmets, and elsewhere on this here blog is a picture of Safety Ed’s full-face helmet, post-dump at Spring Scoot a few years ago, which illustrates why full-face helmets are a very good idea. I still think so.

But there are times when a full-face helmet feels like too much.

Like summer. Especially where I live, when it gets humid. The eye shield of my full-face fogs up in temperatures above 80°F.

And the one thing that is often a royal pain in the tukhuis is having to take my glasses off to put on or remove the full-face.

On the road, I noticed long ago that people seem a bit more at ease if they can see your face. It’s easier to make eye contact with your fellow road users. They’re more likely to engage you in conversation, too. Which I’ve always found an enjoyable aspect of riding.

The guy who sold me the GTS included a 3/4 helmet with a face shield. It was one size too big, and while I rather enjoyed it under the right conditions, I was a tiny bit uneasy about having to wear a knit cap to size it properly. Not to mention sweaty.

I finally went for the SparX FC-07 Drifter pictured above.

DOT and ECE certified, it is as nicely finished as helmets costing considerably more. The liner is removable and washable, and you can get a tinted face shield. Both types of face shields have vent ports on the upper sides.

Its field of vision is greatly expanded vs. a full-face, but there’s no more wind buffeting than with the full-face helmet. The noise level is about the same, too.

The Drifter is light as a feather, and easy to put on with glasses on. It has a snap button to take up the slack of the chin strap.

A quality bit of kit, this. The suggested retail price is under 100 bucks (I got it on sale, so make that way under), and SparX has a crashed helmet program: If your helmet is damaged in an accident, just send them a copy of the police report, a description of how the helmet performed, and the damaged helmet. You’ll get a FREE replacement! Free is good.

SparX makes full-face and motocross helmets as well. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. April 6, 2011 8:18 pm

    Oh, I still have the full-face. And I still plan to wear it on long/fast rides. This one’s for around town…

  2. April 6, 2011 10:20 pm

    Very cool! I normally sport a Fulmer AF-655 in the warmer months, despite the NHTSA data about odds of landing chin-first.

  3. April 9, 2011 6:10 pm

    The helmet looks great. I also prefer a 3/4 helmet for the reason that I get claustrophobic in a full face brain bucket. I try it every so often, but it doesn’t work, so I still have an almost brand new Shoei on my shelf, but it is a Nolan N-43 I wear all year long.

  4. Dan Gould permalink
    April 13, 2011 5:10 pm

    yeah I’ve been considering a new 3/4 for those reasons as well, sunglasses, talking to people etc.

Comments are closed.