Skip to content

I scream, you scream

March 25, 2011
by
Ed & Aileen's Dairy

Ed & Aileen's Dairy, just south of the Canadian border (Orin O'Neill photos)

It’s been warm in Bellingham. I mean, WARM. Good weather for ice cream, I thought. A long ride to that ice cream seemed appropriate, too.

Ed & Aileen’s Dairy is a place I’ve driven and ridden past about a million times, and each time I’ve said to myself, I need to check it out.

Everything's better with ice cream

Ed & Aileen sell milk and other dairy products under the Edaleen brand, though in spite of what the Bellingham State of Mind video says, Haggen doesn’t have any Edaleen-brand dairy products; however, the Kwik-E-Mart in the 76 station just north of Sehome Village is always advertising gallons of Edaleen milk for cheap.

The Edaleen dairy farm is quite large, the store less than a mile from the Canadian border on Guide Meridian Road, the arrow-straight highway from Bellingham. There’s lots of rural stuff along the way, with a few clumps of suburbia scattered here and there. And nice views of Mount Baker. I’ll cover this subject in more detail, in a future post.

But like the sign says, today my focus is on ice cream.

The store is a great idea, and lots of folks stop on their way to or from the Great White North. They have big refrigerated cases full of milk and other dairy products, but there’s also a soda fountain.

Order ice cream treats here

Of course there’s espresso. This is Western Washington, after all. They have other stuff for sale, too.

Ed & Aileen's Dairy t-shirts

These days, not having logo apparel means giving up a significant revenue stream. Especially when just about everyone passing by here is in vacation mode. Fifteen bucks for a t-shirt? Why not, that’s cheap! Especially if you pay in Canadian dollars, which are worth a couple pennies more than greenbacks these days.

Words of Christ, March/April 2011 edition

They have this stuff, too. No charge. Ed & Aileen’s is in Lynden, where dancing is illegal. Apparently, it leads to heavy petting, and we all know what happens after that.

Blackberry milkshake

There are many, many flavor combinations of milkshakes made with actual ice cream (they also have “shakes,” made with Soft Serve). I went for blackberry with french vanilla ice cream, which was still in the cow 48 hours ago, flavored with blackberries picked just down the road a ways (blackberry bushes are almost, but not quite, as prolific in these parts as kudzu in the South, so it’s not like you have to go far, or spend a whole lot of time to fill a bucket).

Four bucks even, Canadian at par. A few cents less than a gallon of premium for the GTS. Per gallon, any of the espresso drinks would’ve cost much, much more. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. Jack Riepe permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:42 pm

    Dear Orin:

    I can’t be within one hundred yards of an open ice cream container. My addiction to the stuff is unbelievable. I agree with you, that a ride to a dairy, where the final product is a stone’s throw away from the cows that spawned it, is the best case scenario.

    We have two dairies that fall within this category in Chester County, Pa, and one ice creamery that sets the standard for “home-made.” But as I said, I will eat the stuff by the quart. One quart of ice cream becomes a cubic yard of semi-permanent fill on my ass. And my ass is so big now that the neighbors can’t tell I ride a motorcycle. They just think I run down the street at 60 miles per hour.

    The temperature here is 36º at the moment. It may be 50º again though in a week.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads
    The Bermuda Triangle of Motorcycle Blogs

  2. March 27, 2011 8:09 am

    Hi Orin,

    My wife, son and I were in Vancouver a few weeks ago and dropped down to Seattle for a couple of days. Unfortunately we managed to bring Montreal weather with us, so now you know whom you have to blame for the cold you had to suffer through. On the way down we flew by Bellingham and that sweet ice-cream spot, but on I-5 of course. I picked up a Starbucks mug in the original spot in the Pike Place Market, and some of the most incredible soft-ripened cheese from Beechers’, “Dynah’s Cheese”. Wow! We’re missing that for sure.

    We just loved Seattle. Took a crazy Duck tour in the care of crazy captain Lou Segussi. What a hoot (or quack!).

  3. March 27, 2011 12:40 pm

    Oh, yeah, the Ride the Ducks tours are a lot of fun, even if you’re not a tourist!

    I need to visit Montreal one of these days…

Comments are closed.