Skip to content

When I grow up, I wanna be…

October 10, 2010
by
Honda Spree and Yamaha YZF

Seen in the Sehome Village parking lot the other day (Orin O'Neill photo)

I never cease to be amazed at the number of Honda Sprees still buzzing around. Introduced in the mid-1980s, 499 bucks out the door, and an ad campaign that touted the Spree as cheaper than walking (based on the cost of the fuel it burned vs. the cost of the food you’d have to eat to replace the calories).

And made almost entirely of plastic. Hmm. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. Jack Riepe permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:29 pm

    Dear Orin:

    I have never heard of the Honda “Spree.” But if I had one, I’d certainly ride it around town.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads

  2. October 12, 2010 7:45 am

    I have friend who’s currently rebuilding a Spree. What I think is great is the community on the internet for Spree owners. There are people making after-market up gear kits and big bore kits for the Spree now and people are trying to figure out how to variate them.

    I recently bought my mother who wanted a scooter after seeing me ride an Elite E which is basically a Spree with a body kit on it.

    Those little two-stroke 49cc engines are Great!

  3. October 13, 2010 11:22 am

    Jack, I think you’d even more closely resemble the Stay-Puft® Marshmallow Man on one of these than on your BMW.

    John, about 15 years ago (aka the Jurassic Era of the Internet) a friend of mine expressed amazement at her son’s ability to communicate with people around the world in his quest for parts for his vintage Vespa. I doubt there’s a motor vehicle on this planet that doesn’t have a community of enthusiasts…

  4. Dunkel man permalink
    October 16, 2010 8:24 am

    Ah yes the Honda Spree, recently spotted one for sale on Craigslist in Bellingham. The asking price – $799.00, I e-mailed them to let them know the Spree sold new for 499.00.

Comments are closed.