Skip to content

Reisen mit dem Motorrad

July 12, 2010
Which one is different?

Can you spot the different one? (Orin O'Neill photo)

“Don’t you want a Harley?” asked someone at a party a while ago. Not really. And as far as I know, the GTS doesn’t want to be a Harley when it grows up.

I always try to park with a group of 2-wheelers when possible. Safety in numbers, and the advantage of being able to fit multiple bikes into the space taken up by one car, dontcha’ know. The Hog rider on the far left seemed to appreciate this.

I’d stopped at Wendy’s on Bill MacDonald Parkway to partake of one of their $2.99 Value Meals™. As I sat down, I saw the Harleys’ fully decked-out riders, three boomer-age couples. I’m guessing the guys all drove and the gals all rode pillion.

Then I noticed they were speaking to each other in German.

The stickers on the handlebars with what looked like an inventory number beginning with “LAX” suddenly made sense. The bikes were rentals. I don’t think Bellingham International (BLI) offers Hog rentals, but you might be able to score one at Sea-Tac or PDX.

I thought about introducing myself, but decided to leave these folks with their American fantasy. “Ze Vespa iss a little GIRLY bike” kept playing in my head… Favicon

(BTW, here are some differences: one’s metallic red, one has a Florida tag and one is…)

2 Comments
  1. Karen permalink
    July 13, 2010 7:57 am

    There does seem to be attitude sometimes. My Harley-riding neighbor told me yesterday that the only reason the M/Cs gave me “the wave” on my ride yesterday was because riding by on the highway they thought Scoot was a motorcycle. Gee, I thought I was finally part of the group. 😉

  2. July 13, 2010 11:23 am

    I dunno, I get Secret Motorcycle Waves from all kinds of other riders. Especially folks on Harleys…

Comments are closed.