Skip to content

600 miles already?

July 9, 2010
Karen's SH150i

Morning in Wisconsin (photo by Karen)

The summer is going fast and I’ve been getting out on the Honda (hereafter referred to as Scoot) almost every day. The weather has been perfect for riding; having lots of sunshine and warm temps has given me the opportunity to get out and get comfortable.

A long time ago a guy who rode a motorcycle told me he especially liked riding down a road lined with trees and seeing the contrast of light and shadow.

Until I started riding Scoot I didn’t really get it, but the other day I rode down such a road and finally realized what he meant. It was both beautiful and hypnotic.

Today on my ride I went over the 600-mile mark and now face the challenge of how to get Scoot someplace for the initial check-up. The Honda dealer from whom I bought it is a 160-mile round trip from here—riding there is not an option. A neighbor said we could use their pickup truck. We’d have to figure out a way to secure Scoot for the trip.

Another option is an 80-mile round trip to a closer town. If that works I will be riding it there with my husband following me in the car (for moral support). We’re going drive there today to check out the dealer and take in the fish fry at the Delta Diner, a neat little diner out in the middle of the Wisconsin woods. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. Keith permalink
    July 10, 2010 4:33 pm

    Karen,
    I’m glad to see your post here. I’d been following your blog and suddenly it was gone. I’d hoped you were all right and befriending your scoot in a good orderly manner. I’m coming up on my one year anniversary of riding and could identify with your excitement and cautious adventurism. I’m still excited. I wish you many wonderful adventures.

    ~Keith

  2. Jack Riepe permalink
    July 10, 2010 7:02 pm

    Deear Karen:

    I started riding motorcycles after a 30-year hiatus in 2005. After a few months of practice, I chose a destination that was 90 miles away. Do you know I checked into a hotel to spend the night? I began to hang out with a riding club that took mileage pretty seriously. They got me to stop thinking in terms of the obstacles and my fears, as opposed to the reality of the ride. It became nothing to do that 90 miles in less than two hours… And that first milestone has become a place where we meet for lunch.

    Have a great 160-mile ride. Take pictures.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads

  3. Karen permalink
    July 10, 2010 8:37 pm

    Keith – thanks for the encouraging words

    Jack – It’s good to be reminded to put less focus on the obstacles and enjoy the ride. That fact has been gradually dawning on me because I really do enjoy riding so much and I wouldn’t give it up even though sometimes I feel so small out there on the road.

Comments are closed.