Skip to content

14930 miles already?

June 15, 2010
GTS, in the shop

Time for an oil and filter change at Vespa Milwaukie (Orin O'Neill photos)

I was hoping to roll into Vespa Milwaukie with exactly 15000 miles on the clock, but I haven’t been riding as much as I’d like. Of course, that’s because I’ve been earning money.

But I need to spend some of it, because I’ve got a long ride coming up. And I’m happy for a chance to spend that cash at Vespa Milwaukie. As in Milwaukie (IE), Oregon, a suburb of Portland.

I haven’t talked much about GTS maintenance lately, have I?

Let’s start with the drive belt, the one the GTS came with new, which was replaced at 13300 miles (the recommended interval is 9300). That work was done at Vespa Portland, and their mechanic showed me a belt looking surprisingly little the worse for wear. “You probably could’ve gone 15000,” he said. I’m a bit neurotic, but seeing that made me tend to agree. I put it off because I was broke, but I’m thinking putting off the replacement won’t hurt.

This time around called for an oil and filter change, and a good look at the major components. I could do the latter (I could do the former if I had a stand to hold the bike up), so all I needed Vespa Milwaukie to do is the oil & filter change. The tab came to $39.95, ten bucks less than what one local Toyota dealer charges to “lube you, plug you and rotate your tires.” Come to think of it, I haven’t seen that commercial lately. I wonder why?

The Kenda tires are holding up well, especially the rear, which had to be replaced on the trip to Seattle. No cuts in the tread that I can see. In addition to being eye-wateringly cheap, the Kendas offer good all-around traction and a smooth ride, which will be the case until they wear out, unlike the original-equipment Savas, which turn dodecagonal as they wear.

The GTS is ready to go!

The GTS is ready to go!

Otherwise, the GTS continues to work well, starting on the first hit and keeping up nicely with the traffic on the Banfield. Favicon

2 Comments
  1. June 16, 2010 12:23 pm

    Wow, that’s about $35 less than what Big People charges for an oil change. Which is why I started doing my own. At home I can do it for $25.

  2. Jack Riepe permalink
    June 17, 2010 8:08 pm

    Dear Orin:

    My bike is going into the shop tomorrow. It will get the coolant, the brake fluid, and the transmission fluid changed. I expect this will cost me about $425. But it is still cheaper than mental care. I just went though my forst major preventice care with this bike, switching out a fuel pump.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads

Comments are closed.