Skip to content

School’s almost in

May 6, 2010
Karen is ready to go!

Almost ready for the Basic Rider Course (Photo courtesy Karen)

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” —J.R.R. Tolkien

Sometimes it’s easier to just not put out the effort it takes to go out that door, and down the road to try something new. But this time I didn’t give in and made (for me) a considerable investment in this scooter.

Last summer we were driving the interstate across North Dakota and for awhile were following a motorcycle. When we finally passed it I looked over and saw it was a woman riding a Harley. On the open road, all by herself. She looked over at us, smiled and nodded as we passed.

It was her look that struck me. She just looked SO happy to be where she was, doing what she was doing. That image stuck with me and in the fall I started thinking about having my own two wheels, even though it wouldn’t be a big motorcycle—too late in the game for me to start that!

Although my husband has been ambivalent about my scooter idea, he’s gone along with it. I couldn’t have done it without the interest-free loan he gave me! 😉 It’s the first vehicle of my own and it’s gives me a sense of freedom I don’t get from riding with someone else.

Early Saturday morning I head out the door to the Basic Rider Course. It’s a half hour drive from here so I’ll have to be up early. I sure wish I could say I’ll be riding my scooter but, that’s not an option so I’ll be driving the car to get there, then the “class motorcycle”.

By Sunday afternoon I’ll have the state motorcycle test waiver and some pictures to document this journey.

(Ah, Frodo, your journey is just beginning… Ed.) Favicon

7 Comments
  1. Itsuke permalink
    May 7, 2010 12:48 am

    Good luck with your course on Saturday. I also look forward to those photos you will upload.

  2. May 7, 2010 7:20 am

    Never say Never… Your little Honda may be just the beginning, in very short order it might very well be you giving the nod to the passing caged soul… from a BIG motorcycle.

  3. Jack Riepe permalink
    May 7, 2010 12:54 pm

    This is how it started for a lot of us.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad

  4. May 7, 2010 3:38 pm

    Karen:

    it’s the beginning of a long, enjoyable journey. Have fun on your course and take loads of pictures.

    bob
    Wet Coast Scootin

  5. May 7, 2010 6:14 pm

    I am so excited for you! I just signed my 16 year old son up for the course the other day. Unfortunately, the class doesn’t start for a month and it is split up over 2 weekends. He will soon be enjoying, just as you will, a long life filled with the fun and challenges that come with being a motorcyclist. I took the class 30 years ago, and I had so much fun! I still remember many of the things I learned in that class, and use them each time I am on 2 wheels. Good Luck tomorrow!

  6. Karen permalink
    May 7, 2010 7:25 pm

    Thanks to all for sending the good vibes. It’s been snowing here all afternoon so it’s a good thing the riding part of the class will be on Sunday, when the snow is supposed to be gone.

  7. MLA permalink
    May 10, 2010 8:38 am

    Yea, Mom!!!

Comments are closed.