Skip to content

Looking toward the recital

May 1, 2010
The scooter on the hill

Photos by Karen

I had planned on taking a ride down the hill into town today but the wind was blowing close to 30 mph and it didn’t seem like the best day to try it.

I had about given up even taking the scooter out today but after a cloudy, dreary afternoon the sun came out, the wind died down and I knew I had to at least go out for a practice run.

This time I took the camera—there was no traffic, so I could stop on the road and take pictures. Getting out and taking pictures is something I want to do a lot more of. Not that I couldn’t do that with the car, it’s just that it would be more fun on the scooter.

The lead photo was taken from the top of the hill looking down to Chequamegon Bay on Lake Superior (aka Gitche Gumee). That’s Madeline Island out in the bay. It’s the only inhabited island in the Apostle Islands chain and a ferry runs there from Bayfield.

Same place, different direction

The other photo was taken only a few yards away, looking in the other direction. It’s the road I take every day when I practice, up and down the hill and sometimes making U-turns in my neighbors’ driveways.

One more week of practice runs and reading the manual before the Basic Rider Course, a week from today. Favicon

One Comment
  1. Dani permalink
    May 2, 2010 3:16 pm

    Wow, what a lovely place to ride! I will look forward to hearing about your adventure to the island when you get to that point. Meanwhile, happy riding and good luck with the class!

Comments are closed.