Skip to content

Getting to Carnegie Hall

April 30, 2010
The Scooter Inspector

Periodic vehicle inspections are required in Wisconsin... (Photo by Karen)

I’ve had my scooter for a full week and am loving it more with each practice session.

There’s not a lot of traffic on the roads I ride on, but they are narrow, curvy and hilly. After a few days I was beginning to get bored with going over the same few roads, but since then I’ve reconsidered. They give me a lot of practice opportunities for using the brakes, stopping, turning, and making U-turns.

The area where I live is at an elevation of 600 feet above lake level a mile and a half from town. I am really looking forward to riding downtown but I’m not quite ready for that hill just yet. I think if the road wasn’t so narrow I wouldn’t be so timid about trying it.

I’ve been riding down the other side of the hill which isn’t quite so narrow. I even took the scooter a couple of miles on the county road to a nearby apple orchard and got it up to 45 mph!

Now that may not sound fast, but I felt like I was flying! I’ve always been someone who looks at the worst case scenario, and I am trying very hard to break myself of that nasty habit and be positive about this. I think by early next week I will be ready to take the scooter down the hill and into town.

Madeline Island is a twenty minute ferry ride from Bayfield and my goal for this summer is to take my scooter on that ferry and ride it on Madeline. The island is fifteen miles long and has a road that circles it.

I’m not pushing myself but I feel I’ve made a lot of progress this week. The scooter no longer seems too heavy for me when I put it up on the stand and I can make U-turns without stopping and putting my foot on the ground. The Basic Rider Class starts a week from Saturday.

I read this on Scooter in the Sticks a few months ago and thought, this is what I’m really searching for in learning to ride this scooter. Favicon

“After years of dabbling in various forms of meditation and escape I would not have believed a scooter would be able to open the doors of perception that my Vespa has accomplished. In the most stressful and complicated moments it remains a powerful antidote and requires only moments to straighten out my head. Riding is a gift. The Vespa is the delivery vehicle.”

4 Comments
  1. WaywardScooterGirl permalink
    April 30, 2010 7:26 am

    Congratulations, Karen, on your new ever increasing confidence. I started scooting two years ago and remember celebrating each new accomplishment…my first time at 50mph, my first night ride, first lane change in traffic, my first long ride, etc. I’m still looking for scooter firsts! I relish the feeling of constantly expanding my comfort zone.

  2. April 30, 2010 7:59 am

    Karen:

    It would appear that your dog wishes to ride too. Look at those sad eyes just staring at your scooter

    Practice at your own pace and take the next leap when you feel confident.

    ride safe
    bob
    Wet Coast Scootin

  3. April 30, 2010 7:32 pm

    I am loving your posts Karen. I’m embarking on the same thing right now with a Vespa GTS250. I’ve got my first day of the Motorcycle Safety Course bright and early tomorrow morning and it’s supposed to rain all weekend! I’m looking on the bright side though. At least I’ll be trained to ride in the wet! Best of luck to you and I hope your confidence (and mine) continues to build.

  4. Karen permalink
    May 1, 2010 6:35 pm

    WaywardScooterGirl: Thanks for the encouraging words

    Bobskoot: People are always asking me how I will get Sierra onto that scooter. I think she knows the answer, that’s why she looks so sad.

    Chad: Hope the rider course went well today!

Comments are closed.