Skip to content

The ride home will be televised

April 24, 2010
by


 
I know, I know, I need to get more heavily into the video thing. So I shot one.

Yes, it’s a bit shaky, and yes there are a whole bunch of things I would do differently if I had something besides the Samsung DL202 I use to take the pictures, but you go with the camera you have, not the one you wish you had.

I got something similar to a Gorillapod, but with a different brand name, designed for digital point ‘n shoot cameras. It wraps around the headset rather well, and a few strategically-placed rubber bands anchor it securely. But the camera still vibrates, even though I positioned one of the legs to touch the bottom of the camera. If you have suggestions for more secure mounting devices that don’t require carving up the headset cover, by all means leave a comment.

Where are we? The video begins as I pull up to the Confluence on Broadway, heading east. I postpone until the last moment a decision about whether to take I-84 or Halsey, and decide on the latter. From there, I proceed east on Halsey, stopping at the light on NE 57th.

What might seem like sharp bumps are indeed sharp bumps. The pavement is not perfect.


 
Coming home from the VA Hospital, I shot another one.

We’re riding northbound on 6th Avenue in downtown Portland. This is part of Portland’s famous Transit Mall, which was reconstructed last year to accommodate a north-south MAX light rail line.

While it freaked me out the first time, I’ve gotten used to riding next to 55-ton light rail trains. Favicon

6 Comments
  1. Karen permalink
    April 24, 2010 7:32 pm

    Those videos were great even if they were a little shaky in parts. I watched them on the 24″ and it like (almost) riding. Actually does give a beginner the feel of riding in traffic.

  2. Ken permalink
    April 25, 2010 3:57 am

    That’s a mighty big tram (the British world never used ‘street car’) you are tracking with in the 2nd vid, much bigger than the single car 50-60 seaters I have been driving since 1982.

    Just as well you weren’t filming off your dearly departed and genuinely oldskool PX—the 2T vibration would have been seriously and continuously noticeable.

    Agreed; your vids are just like being a pillion along for the ride.

  3. April 25, 2010 4:01 pm

    I don’t think there’s any reasonably-priced way to dampen the vibration. I’ve found that putting my rig on a tripod, and strapping it all down behind me seems to work out best, and at no additional cost.
    .

  4. April 26, 2010 7:43 am

    “I know, I know, I need to get more heavily into the video thing.”

    WHY? Videos are clever technology and like so much new technology outstrip human ability to use them in a manner that is captivating and compelling.

  5. Stubb permalink
    April 26, 2010 8:52 am

    I often use the Pedco UltraPod (from REI) to mount my flip. It can easily velcro to a variety of spots on my bike (front turn signal, windscreen mount, luggage rack…)

    http://www.rei.com/product/777249

  6. Jack Riepe permalink
    April 26, 2010 5:41 pm

    Dear Orin:

    I am always afraid I am going to see a car door swing open whenever I watch a video of a biker passing a line of cages on the right. Very neat first attempt. I would think riding the light rail wouldbe fun. Then again, I like all kinds of trains.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads

Comments are closed.