Skip to content

The adventure begins, again

April 23, 2010
My brand-new Honda SH150i

My brand-new Honda SH150i (photo by Karen)

My late-blooming interest in riding a scooter started about two years ago when the price of gas kept going up. I began to notice a few people in my area riding on two wheels. Still, I never seriously considered it until last fall when I went online to investigate the subject.

The almighty eye of Google noticed what I was doing and suggested Scootin’ Old Skool, which led to all kinds of information. I really began to think seriously about riding one.

After months of waiting for spring my Honda SH150i arrived last Wednesday. I live 65 miles from the Honda dealer so my first problem was how to get it home. In this case the dealer delivered it at no extra charge—I consider myself lucky for that.

I am now on my third day of reading manuals and doing some timid riding but still loving the feeling of accomplishment it gives me even at this early stage.

I live near the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore where the scenery is quite beautiful. As time goes on and I get out on the road I plan to take a lot more pictures.

But before all that starts I have a lot to learn and most importantly, successful completion of the Basic Rider Course which I’ll be taking May 8 and 9. The riding instruction will be on small motorcycles, which will be a lot different than my scooter, but whatever happens I think it’s definitely worthwhile. More on that later. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. April 23, 2010 6:59 pm

    Karen:

    welcome to the world of scooting and blogging. What initially seems like a good way to save money turns into a passion. You will start to notice other riders and meet more people with similar interests. It’s all good. We are a friendly community and if you ever need any help, just ask

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  2. Karen permalink
    April 24, 2010 8:34 am

    Thanks bobskoot. I’ve been reading the scooter blogs, yours among them, since last fall and I can see it’s a good group. Reading the blogs and hearing about others experiences has been helping me a lot.

  3. April 28, 2010 2:33 pm

    Karen,

    Welcome to our world. Just do us a favor and not judge everyone here by Orin!

    I am an instructor for Oregon’s motorcycle safety program. We allow people to use their own bikes in the basic course if they are below 250cc. We actually had a gal take our course a month or so ago on the same model you have.

    Guess what I’m saying is that there’s a possibility you can use your scoot in the class.

  4. Karen permalink
    April 28, 2010 6:40 pm

    Thanks Irondad. When I registered for the BRC I asked about that and they said I would have to use the small motorcycles they have in the class. I know a woman who sometimes teaches in the class and she said that she had been asking them to change the policy and at least have a couple of scooters in addition to motorcycles but hadn’t gotten very far with it. I wish I was taking the class in Oregon.

Comments are closed.