Skip to content

And so this is Easter, 2010

April 3, 2010

I’ve said it before, I’m not religious, but am nonetheless drawn to churches. For the architecture, of course. And in that regard, Portland is right up there with any place Rick Steves might feature on his TV series.

This is not a comprehensive collection, and it’s not even all of Portland, just Northeast.

Immaculate Heart Catholic Church

Orin O'Neill photos

Immaculate Heart Catholic Church is at the corner of NE Williams & NE Stanton. I was attending meetings in the parish hall a few weeks ago. The view is from the back, because there are so many utility and phone wires obscuring the building’s front.

A Baptist church

In fact, Stanton Street is kind of a church row. This Baptist church, which has a long name that I foolishly neglected to write down, is on the next block east from Immaculate Heart.

Some other church

This other church, which didn’t have a name I could see, was kitty-corner across the street. See what I mean about the wires?

Saint Rose of Lima Catholic Church

Portland has a lot of Spanish-influenced buildings, most of which aren’t churches. St. Rose of Lima is at 54th & Alameda.

Rose City Park Presbyterian Church

Rose City Park Presbyterian Church is just off Sandy Boulevard. It’s an imposing structure. In fact, I think it looks like a bank.

Former First National Bank of Oregon

As it happens, there’s a bank across Sandy Boulevard. Note the name etched into the stone across the top of the entryway. I had no idea there was a First National Bank of Oregon.

St Francis of Assissi

Here’s St. Francis of Assissi. You can see it’s a bit threadbare. Not unlike the surrounding neighborhood. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. Karen permalink
    April 4, 2010 12:00 pm

    I’m not a religious person either but enjoyed the photos and think it was a good theme for today. As the saying goes, “There are many paths leading to the top of the mountain but from the summit we all look at the same bright moon”.

  2. April 5, 2010 9:10 pm

    It is said of Key West that there are more churches and bars per capita than any other US city.

    Which comment has no relevance to anything, I know.

  3. April 7, 2010 4:46 pm

    I always admire architecture with character and history behind it.

    Do you mean to tell me I’m not the only one who watches Rick Steeves on Saturday night?

Comments are closed.