Skip to content

The square root of pie, squared

March 15, 2010
It looks like banana cream

It looks like a banana cream pie, doesn't it? (Jackie Fitzpatrick photo)

The weather gods smiled on Scooters of Bellingham’s Pi Run Sunday, as 24 scooters and their riders rode around Whatcom County and ate pie. And quiche. And pizza. This year’s punctured tire was suffered by Jana’s P200, but as you know, old-skool Vespas have spare tires.

Rev. Robert was the sole participant from north of the 49th Parallel, while five Seattle riders made the scene as well. No one from Portland, sadly. I’m afraid the weather on Saturday was a little too iffy for a 300-mile scooter ride.

Morning meetup

Simon King photos

The group met at Bellingham’s historic Colophon Cafe, in the historic Fairhaven district.

It was all about the pie.

Six pies

And scooters.

Get that picture!

This looks yummy.

Mmmm. Pie.

Rhubarb, not so much.

Rhubarb pie.

To me, anyway. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. March 16, 2010 4:14 am

    Cottlestone Pie and a P200 with a spare wheel would be heaven. And guess what? There is an almost brand new 2002 P200 for sale with 1700 miles on the clock in south Florida for $4000. A special import in midnight blue. My wife said No! Can you believe her?

  2. Joy Rain permalink
    March 16, 2010 7:44 am

    I have absolutely got to make it to one of these events. My intentions are always the best.

    Did you all sing the Pie Song from the movie “Michael?”

    thanks for the photos

  3. March 18, 2010 7:14 am

    Dear Orin:

    Do you often do 300-mile rides in a single day? That is pushing it for me (certainly at the beginning of the season) with my hips in the state they are in. Changing the front wheel looks easy. I bet the back is a lot harder. Does carrying a spare tire induce Vespa riders to push the treadwear issue to the very max?

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads

  4. March 19, 2010 10:56 am

    Joy, I’m afraid I’m not familiar with the song, or the movie (and since I wasn’t there I wouldn’t know).

    Jack, I would’ve made the trip if the weather forecast for SW Washington (which is about 140 miles of it) had been unequivically sunny. It wasn’t. So I didn’t. I have to say my taste for riding distances like that is starting to sour, but Santa left me a 6-pack of socks instead of the Panther Black Ford Transit Connect XLT (the Ultimate Scooter Hauler) I really wanted.

    You are right, removing and replacing the rear wheel is as difficult (and expensive, when you pay someone else to do it) as removing and replacing the front one is easy. No spare tires on modern Vespas, since the tires are different sizes. It is the difficulty and expense that cause you to see modern Vespas with bald rear tires…

Comments are closed.