Skip to content

Only 61 degrees and sunny?

March 6, 2010
The GTS is all lathered up

The GTS needed a bath. Badly. (Orin O'Neill photos)

I walked out to the driveway and immediately started to sweat. Gosh, it’s WARM!

And it’s still technically winter. And as far as I know, this is still Portland, Oregon.

I took off two layers, then started gathering the car-washing materials. The GTS doesn’t get to stay in the garage, and it was last washed… when? September?

It looked it.

Over the years, I’ve found mild dishwashing detergent (e.g., Ivory, Palmolive) works well for the bodywork, and I use Simple Green or 409 on the wheels, suspension, brake calipers and transmission case.

The GTS is all nice and clean!

The painted surfaces could use some wax, but I don’t have any at the moment. We’ll save that task for another time. Favicon

5 Comments
  1. March 7, 2010 6:11 am

    Lookin good. Watch out for the rain clouds now!

    Ride on,
    Torch

  2. March 7, 2010 10:20 am

    Dear Orin:

    I have said this before and I will say it again: You have a beautiful scooter. The lustrous black finish rivals the color of a lawyer’s heart and gives you machine a limo-like aura. A spotless machine implies prosperity and confidence above challenge. If I saw you coming along on this scooter, I would immediately think you were a force to be reckoned with.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad

  3. March 9, 2010 12:18 am

    Thanks, Jack! :mrgreen:

    I actually had something like that happen when I was reviewing cars during my stint as editor of the local SCCA publication. BMW had supplied me with a shiny black 735i. I was unemployed at the time and driving it to job interviews, wearing my Dress For Success® suit. People saw me and snapped to. If only they knew…

  4. March 9, 2010 10:48 am

    And then today it snowed.

  5. March 9, 2010 11:50 am

    Indeed, it did.

Comments are closed.