Skip to content

Goin’ to Las Vay-gas

February 22, 2010
Frosty scooters

A trailer full of frosty scooters, Las Vegas-bound (Jeff Roddick photos)

Wow. Vegas is this weekend?

*Sigh!* Once again, I’m not going. But several Scooters of Bellingham members are. Jeff R is transporting the bikes. He writes, “The scooters were a bit frosty on Sunday morning, so we took them out to the Oregon Coast for some sunshine and ocean vistas.”

Scooters at the Oregon coast

Notice the scoot on the front. Seven on the trailer makes eight. Have fun folks, and remember the often-misquoted slogan: Las Vegas. What happens here, stays here. Favicon

2 Comments
  1. February 23, 2010 8:12 pm

    Dear Orin:

    I am genuinely sorry that you are giving this group outing the pass again this year. I love zipping off and meeting my riding buddies at various locations, and have had to miss several events due to the pressures of my job. Now I will be missing a few because the economy is killng my business and the reveue simply isn’t there. It happens. But I am determined to have a better year in 2010.

    I am also determined to find a way to become a moto-journalist or biker/writer. This would be easier if I could tell a story. I have a dream of riding out to the west coast. It would be cool to meet you on a run someplace. I want to ride on the coat road tha goes up through Washignton and Oregon.

    The camper truck pulling the scooters on the trailer intrigues me. Any data on that?

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads

  2. February 23, 2010 9:42 pm

    Jeff is this mad genius who builds really cool stuff. The truck is a Mitsubishi Fuso that you usually see with a box van body, or configured as a tow truck. He adapted a slide-in camper to fit it (and the camper can be replaced when necessary by a box van body). Being powered by a small diesel, the truck gets way better mileage than your average pickup or full-size van, and has the necessary power to pull the trailer. Which is a flat-bed vehicle hauler with a wonderfully elegant solution for holding the bikes in place, made of what I’m guessing are 2x4s and 2x6s.

    Jeff’s bike is the one on the end of the trailer, one I call the Punk GTS because it’s a Vespa GTS 250 that was resurrected from the dead, but not restored to its original configuration…

Comments are closed.