Skip to content

Las Habañeros

January 29, 2010
by
CZ Cezeta

Seen in the streets of Havana, Cuba (Elizabeth d'Aversa photos)

If I lived in Canada, I’d probably still have toes on my right foot.

I’d also be able to travel freely and openly to Cuba. Like my Canadian friend Liz, who just got back (and kindly allowed me to post these pictures).

The Canadian government has no beef with the Cuban government, and as far as I know, never has. Unlike the United States, which established an economic and diplomatic embargo shortly after Fidel Castro assumed power in 1959. He was a COMMUNIST, for God’s sake!! The embargo was supposed to drive Castro from power so democracy (or “democracy,” your choice) could be restored to the Cuban people.

CZ Cezeta

We all know how well that worked, don’t we?

Anyway, Cuba is famous for all the pre-revolución American cars on its roads, but not much is said about 2-wheeled vehicles. Like this one.

This obscure scooter’s nameplate looks like it says “Cedeta.” Actually, it says “Cezeta.” Made by the Czech motorcycle manufacturer CZ. Hey, in the 1950s and 60s everybody took a stab at the scooter market.

Many other poor countries teem with scooters and motorbikes (e.g., Vietnam), but communism was never big on personal mobility. And the cars were already on the island.

The old American cars are in the minority these days; if you look at pictures of traffic in la Habana, you’ll notice a lot of newish Euro and Asian hatchbacks.

Cuban Vespa PX

And as we can see, the odd Vespa PX. The badging on the legshield is indicative of a newer one. And the front fender appears to be a primed but unpainted replacement.

I would love to visit Cuba sometime before I die. Legally, anyway. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. January 29, 2010 8:30 am

    We live in a strange country, Orin.

  2. January 30, 2010 7:40 am

    Orin, nice post—my thanks to your friend for sharing the pictures of Havana. Love that Cezeta! I too would love to have a chance to see Cuba.

  3. January 30, 2010 10:01 am

    It would be truly great if relationships between countries were established by individuals, not governments. What a world, eh?

Comments are closed.