Skip to content

“Please park your mopeds next to the bike rack”

January 9, 2010
The GTS has company at Fred Meyer

For once, the GTS had company at Fred Meyer (Orin O'Neill cell phone photo)

I spied the red scooter as I turned off Glisan into Fred Meyer. This one’s been here before. It’s a new Lambretta. Or if you prefer, “Lambretta.”

It’s the only one I’ve ever seen on the street.

Last time I saw it, I looked at the odometer and saw that it showed over 3,400 miles (and for whatever reason, the 3 was red). So this one gets used.

Yeah, yeah, it’s not a “real” Lambretta, but at the risk of having a fatwa declared on me, I’d suggest Innocenti would be building something quite similar had the company stayed in business. After all, this “Lambretta” has a tubular steel frame, as did the original.

The owner wasn’t around, and I had to get the groceries home so I couldn’t wait to see if he showed up. He passed me as I waited to turn left on 67th. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. January 9, 2010 3:14 pm

    Pretty snazzy pair! You and I talked about the “branding” thing at lunch the other day. The mileage on the scooter talks the loudest, doesn’t it?

  2. January 9, 2010 3:28 pm

    That it does. The “Lambretta” is a thoroughly decent bike, offered at a reasonable price. As I said, I wasn’t able to talk to the owner, but it wouldn’t surprise me if he doesn’t know (or care) about the history of the Lambretta name; he could well have just liked the way it looks and found the price right. I’ll bet most of these sold overseas are to people who want a bike with the same name as their Lambretta clothes…

  3. January 9, 2010 8:50 pm

    Lambretta brand clothes? Not me, dude. L.L.Bean, thank you very much.

Comments are closed.