Skip to content

50 degrees and New Year’s

January 1, 2010
Zeller Chapel of Roses

Not a barn, a funeral home (Orin O'Neill photos)

I stayed up to greet the new year, though it was quite troubling to see the undead Dick Clark on New Year’s Rockin’ Eve®.

There was no word of a New Year’s Day ride, so I struck out on my own.

Heading west on Broadway, I decided this would be a great opportunity to photograph Zeller’s Chapel of Roses, above. “Keep Portland Weird” say the stickers, and this place is making a fine contribution. Why the architect decided to make a funeral home look like a barn is beyond me, but at least you don’t get the impression the owner sleeps in a coffin.

The Snopocalypse long past, the abandoned vehicles collected, the first day of Twenty-Ten is more typical of Portland winter weather. Each new day is a minute longer. I’m ready for spring.

The light rain became heavier, and the wind picked up, so I decided to head back to the house. But not before capturing this mural.

It takes a planet to save a village

Lots of people I know are really happy to see 2009 pass into history. For me, it was a memorable year, but for all the wrong reasons. Here’s hoping your 2010 will be a good one. Favicon

Comments are closed.