Skip to content

Somewhere, over the West Hills

November 18, 2009
by
The GTS

A little rearrangement of the driveway was required for the new furnace install. (Orin O'Neill photo)

“Orin, we need you to move your scooter,” said Pablo. “Nobody else knows how.”

Not a problem. Checking on it is something I’ve been doing regularly since not being able to ride it, but moving it would at least involve hopping in the saddle and scuttling it around. And Pablo would be there to spot me.

Luckily, it takes much longer for atrophy to set in on a well-lubricated, well-sealed machine. The GTS has been sitting out in the rain for I don’t know how long, but it fired right up and everything worked the other day. Nothing was hanging up, the tires still had plenty of air, and I had no trouble backing it around to the entry path so the guys can install the new furnace. Pablo can step on the center stand lever, something I realize I’ll have to train myself to do with my right heel.

The GTS moved, I excuse myself. Pablo later tells me the revelation that part of my right foot has been amputated made the guys’ eyes get really wide.

Remember, it’s not being certain of getting it on its centerstand that keeps me out of the saddle. If there were a side stand, I’d be even further past the 12,000 mile service than I already am. I had no difficulty holding it upright with my legs (and feet).

On Friday, the sutures come out, which I get the impression means the foot is healed. I can start using it normally.

Normal. What a concept. Favicon

7 Comments
  1. anita permalink
    November 18, 2009 2:55 pm

    Hi Orin,

    Getting someone to spot you for awhile is a good idea. When I got my Grantourismo 200, I had Jerry spot me for awhile as I learned how to manage the centerstand on a heavier scooter than I was used to. Slanty parking spots continue to be a challenge, but getting better.

    Glad the sutures are out. Happy continued healing!

    Anita

  2. November 18, 2009 2:58 pm

    anita, they’re not out yet. That happens on Friday…

  3. November 18, 2009 3:26 pm

    Orin:

    would someone be able to “tack weld” a small flat section on the centre stand to help give a little more leverage to help you out ? You could also have a side stand installed (without the cut off switch), just make sure to get some velcro straps to wrap around your brake levers to secure, when parked. (to stop rolling off the stand on an incline). since I have a side stand on my scoot, I rarely use the centre stand at all. but I have a parking brake.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  4. November 18, 2009 3:32 pm

    Get an aftermarket side stand if you can. They work fine if you are careful.

  5. November 18, 2009 3:34 pm

    Orin, sounds like progress is in the making. Glad to hear the GTS wasn’t feeling so neglected as not to start.

  6. November 18, 2009 3:51 pm

    bobskoot, it really won’t be necessary to weld any appendages to the current lever; the stupid bootie they make me wear to direct weight to my heel has really become an impediment to mobility, and as I say, shouldn’t be necessary after Friday. There are all kinds of things I’m going to have to get used to doing without toes on my right foot, but outwardly it shouldn’t be that big of an adjustment. That’s what the surgical team told me, anyway.

    The side stand is on the list. But so is 12K-mile service, and getting the new Kenda front tire I got with my Spokane rally pack coupon mounted. Money, however, is still much too tight to mention…

  7. November 22, 2009 7:09 pm

    Orin, glad to read you are getting better. I’ve been away for awhile, so I will catch up on your posts to find out what happened to your foot.

Comments are closed.