Skip to content

To market, to market

August 17, 2009
Three bags full

Orin O'Neill photos

The new grab rail hasn’t arrived yet, so the GTS still rolls sans topcase. But I still needed to go to the grocery store.

Yes, that’s three plastic grocery bags, two of which contained gallon containers of milk and orange juice. The hook holds them all securely, and there’s plenty of room underneath the outboard bags to put your feet on the floorboard.

I’ve found the greener-than-thou tote bags don’t work so well in this situation, though they do fit fine in the topcase as long as you arrange the items in them carefully (the lid won’t close if you don’t).

Had the topcase been in place, I would’ve put at least two of the bags in it. Again, if you distribute the items in the bags carefully, you can fit as many as three in the Vespa-brand topcase. Aftermarket cases might hold more.

Oh, I had another bag.

Shopping bag

This bag had two boxes of cereal

The quantity here is limited only by how far your bungee net will stretch. Favicon

8 Comments
  1. August 17, 2009 9:30 am

    I am frequently surprised as to the versatility and overall utility of the ‘purse hook’ or as I refer to it, the ‘Man Bag’ hook.

    I think it is an advantage that scooters have over motorcycles.

  2. August 17, 2009 4:38 pm

    At the risk of being less green, I’d suggest double bagging the big stuff!

    So you’re in NE Portland? I was at the University of Portland on Wednesday. Probably just across the river.

  3. August 17, 2009 6:43 pm

    Orin, Sven from Ikea would be proud of how you fit everything on your scoot. I like the pass-through on my Elite – I’ve even brought cat litter home tucked between my legs.

  4. August 18, 2009 10:41 am

    thanks for the inspiring ideas! i have a GTS 250 and always struggle with those gallon jugs — the top case isn’t the right shape and they cook when i put them under the seat. i doubted they would work on the hook but look @ that!

  5. August 18, 2009 7:04 pm

    Irondad, UP is in North Portland, same side of the river, tho the river is not really a factor. And the Fred Meyer on Glisan is close enough for one bag to be sufficient.

    Janaybe points out the unsuitability of the underseat storage tub for cold/frozen foods. It is, after all, right over the engine. So that’d be the place for hot takeout food…

  6. August 18, 2009 8:02 pm

    ok ill say it….please switch to reusable bags. those bags eventually end up in oceans, rivers, streams and kill animals. please think about it.

  7. August 19, 2009 10:56 am

    Or make the current bags out of compostabale/biodegradable materials like the plastic utensils I’ve been getting lately. Or dispose of them properly. I’ve seen greener-than-thou totes on the side of the road with all the other litter, and I suspect they present much more environmental harm than the plastic bags.

    I’m pleased to see voters in my former locale defeated a 20-cent bag fee which wouldn’t have solved the disposal problem and been yet another regressive tax burden on poorer residents…

  8. August 23, 2009 9:21 pm

    Don’t overload that hook, Orin…and sometimes you might wanna “double-bag”. lol
    _Lorenzo

Comments are closed.