Skip to content

Zatz vhere I got ze bagels

August 5, 2009
Zatz a Better Bagel, in West Seattle

As you can see, there are hot bagels NOW! (Orin O'Neill photos)

I’ve heard people who say they’re all about buying local food and other products get all misty-eyed about bagels from such unlikely sources as Dunkin’ Donuts.

I don’t recall seeing bagels in the stores that used to be in Seattle before the company pulled out of the Pacific Northwest. Having never lived on the East Coast, I can’t speak to what is or is not a good bagel, but I do know what I like.

Zatz a Better Bagel is just north of the Admiral Junction. They’re local, they make the bagels in the store, and I think they’re really good.

All kinds of bagels

Of course Zatz has lox, and makes any kind bagel sandwich you can think of. But I like the plain ones. Big, chewy and 99 cents. Yes.

Admiral Theatre, West Seattle

You might want to get one before you go across the street to see a movie at the Admiral Theatre. Favicon

2 Comments
  1. August 5, 2009 4:09 pm

    You know jalapeño is the best! Thanks, Orin, for making me hungry. Take care,
    _Lorenzo

  2. August 6, 2009 10:23 am

    I have to listen to my wife, a bonafide Mid West Jew, grumble about what her zayde would have had to say about blueberry bagels every time she sees one (a blueberry bagel not a grandfather). She doesn’t turn down chocolate chip bagels though and I doubt they made those in the diaspora. For my part I can’t stand Indian movies no matter how fashionable Bollywood may be. We all have our weaknesses I guess.

Comments are closed.