Skip to content

80 degrees and sunny

July 10, 2009

Making a donation at Value Village

This downsizing thing is really taking hold. Each day I’m discovering more stuff I don’t really need, and am kicking myself for dragging it around all these years. Not that I plan to go beating everyone about the head and shoulders with this new-found frugality, or simplicity, or whatever it is, but like they keep saying about business in this tanked economy, once things turn around I should be in great shape.

But until that happens, there’s still stuff to get rid of. I looked in the closet and realized I have six winter coats. I only wear one, and the others are in excellent condition. There are surely five other people with a greater need than I, so off they go.

They make a nice, neat little bundle. The bungee net grasps it firmly, making a great backrest. Shoulda taken a picture, but I didn’t. Sorry.

Jones Soda in SLU

Donation made, I remember Jones Soda is giving away free sodas at their HQ on 9th Avenue. That’s on the way.

I was surprised Jones Soda now comes in cans. They’re famous for selling their product in clear glass bottles with labels containing pictures sent in by their customers. I go for a root beer, made with cane sugar.

I can’t think of any errands to run in this part of town, so I decide to head for Lake Washington Boulevard. With the sun shining the way it is, how could I not?

I point the GTS south on 9th, headed for Denny. I frequently lose my bearings here because of all the new construction. There used to be lots of low-rise buildings and even a few vacant lots, but not any more. But then, this neighborhood was once called Cascade.

9th and Denny, just north of downtown Seattle

Especially at 9th and Denny. There are not only new buildings, but lots of new pavement striping and reorientation of the traffic lanes. That curvy building on the right looks like an office building, but it’s actually condos.

Fairview and Denny, north of downtown Seattle

This building rose out of a lot where Greyhound used to park their buses. I can’t remember if it’s condos or apartments, but most such buildings have switched back and forth as the real estate market has risen and fallen.

I take Denny eastbound through the uphill curve where it turns to E John Street. I have to make a decision at 15th: left, or right? I decide right, that being the easiest way to Lake Washington Boulevard, via Madison Street. Not avenue, street. Madison Avenue is in New York City. I would be nice if the TV news people would get that straight.

At the beginning of the snaking descent to the lake shore, a sign says “Street Closed.” Really? Cars were coming from the opposite direction, so I decided to press onward. Sure enough, the street was open.

Seen in a restroom at Madrona Park, Seattle

Approaching Madrona Park, I realize I need to find a restroom, now! Madrona Park has them, of course.

I’m not sure what the deal is with the sign. You’ll notice someone attempted to erase or cover the word “no” but didn’t quite succeed. Of course, some people are just going to do what they want to, sign or no.

I realize I need to get home soon, so the plan to ride down to Seward Park must be scrubbed for today. I’ll go back to the trolley bus turnaround and up the hill. That will put you on Union Street, which eventually connects to Madison.

On a whim, I go left at 12th and down to Yesler. This is the street that was once known as “Skid Road,” because it was where the logs were dragged from Elliott Bay to Henry Yesler’s sawmill. And yes, the name has been corrupted to “Skid Row” and was once applied to streets in other cities inhabited by the down and out.

Yesler is a fairly steep climb/descent. At the foot of Yesler, here’s what you’ll see.

Seattle's Smith Tower

The Smith Tower (the white building slightly to the left) was once the tallest office building west of the Mississippi River, and these days is being considered for a conversion to condos. Just like almost any other building in Seattle.

Seattle skyline

The Columbia Center (the black building) and the Seattle Municipal Tower are the tallest and fourth(I think)-tallest buildings downtown. I’m going to guess Henry Yesler and his contemporaries never dreamed Seattle would look like this.

Since I was not wearing an armored jacket, I took Alaskan Way to get home. The ad hoc moto parking area was particularly full today. Favicon

Comments are closed.