Skip to content

Let’s try again

June 19, 2009

I’m sitting in the coffee shop, the voice of the late Curtis Mayfield wafting from the speakers. “Stone junkie, stone, stone junkie,” he sings. Oddly enough, I can relate. It’s been seven weeks without the GTS.

I’ve never smoked, but since Big People picked up the GTS on April 29 I’ve come to realize just how going without some kind of fix can gnaw at you. I’ve told people the GTS is 2-wheeled motorized crack/meth/other drug, and how therapeutic riding it can be.

Looking at scooters for sale on Craigslist is probably the worst thing I could’ve done, but it’s certainly not as bad as thinking about all the riding I couldn’t do during Seattle’s record-tying rainless streak. I could console myself knowing I didn’t have money to buy any of the sweet scoots, but seeing people riding along with smiles on their faces just… oh, the humanity! 😦

Jeff at Big People told me the word from Piaggio was a bad HT coil. So they’ve installed a new one. I pick up the GTS tomorrow, Saturday. Visions of long rides are tempered by thoughts of “what if it’s still not fixed?” That’s what happened last time.

I want to be optimistic. The weather forecast says rain Saturday evening and Sunday, but sunshine and temps in the 70s F for the next seven days after that. What did they say on The X-Files? I want to believe. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. June 19, 2009 6:15 pm

    Orin:

    I truly hope that it is fixed “for GOOD” this time. Sounds Like it could be the problem. I would hate to think of the disappointment if it stopped again. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy it for the rest of the summer. I am sure you know that summer starts on Sunday

    bob

  2. June 21, 2009 4:20 am

    A bad HT coil would certainly kill a good scooter ride. I hope that fixes the problem. Seems odd that it would take 7 weeks to pinpoint that. It would be one of the first things to look at I would think.

    So don’t keep us in suspense any longer than necessary. Post a picture of you smiling on the road with the damn Vespa.

    And if that doesn’t fix the problem keep it to yourself. 😀 You don’t need to scare the rest of us with tales of unfixable mechanical problems….

    Good luck!

    Steve Williams
    Scooter in the Sticks

  3. June 21, 2009 9:47 am

    Thanks for your kind wishes, guys. I’m picking up the GTS on Monday; Jeff didn’t finish putting it back together, so the reunion has been postponed. And yeah, I’m scratching my head about why this process took so long, but it is what it is. I’ve been without the GTS for seven weeks, so what’s a couple more days..?

  4. Jim permalink
    June 22, 2009 6:56 am

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!! I have a feeling they got the problem fixed this time. That is the problem with electronic ignitions. They work when they are cold but sometimes they quit working when they get warm. The only things left in the electronic ignition that you have not replaced is the pickup sensor and the control module.

Comments are closed.