Skip to content

Spotted in West Seattle

June 13, 2009
Beerfest Stella

Orin O'Neill photos

Still no GTS. *Sigh* But I was taking the long way back from Alki and realized I couldn’t pass this up. Especially since I remembered to bring the camera!

They went for the chrome horncast

This Stella with sidecar is promoting the Seattle International Beerfest July 4 weekend.

In case you didn't know...

You probably can’t see the nameplate on the sidecar—it’s a Cozy India, which I think is the official sidecar for LML scooters.

Here's the rear view

They’ve gone for all the bling. And the posters are clever, too.

Notice the chrome headset cover

I’ve always said if I had a Stella this color, I’d get a bunch of brown decal material, cut it up into little chunks, and apply the chunks in a way that suggests mint chocolate-chip ice cream. Stellas don’t come in any colors that suggest beer, however.

The sidecar nose has pictures of beer

The Beerfest also has a purple and white VW Transporter pickup. Slammed. No suspension whatsoever. It was parked in a driveway, so I couldn’t photograph it easily.

If you go, please remember not to drink and ride. Favicon

5 Comments
  1. June 14, 2009 7:42 am

    Drink and ride if you have something to ride. double sigh.

  2. June 14, 2009 8:55 pm

    Nice Stella, Orin! Meanwhile, I’m out of a scooter, too. Perhaps, it’s contagious, like a “scooter flu” or something.–Lorenzo

  3. Jim permalink
    June 17, 2009 1:09 pm

    Hey Orin:

    I’m so sorry to hear that GTS is still out of commission. How long has Big People had it? Two months? Bummer. You would think that after this length of time they would have figured the problem out, after all it’s only a scooter, not the Space Shuttle. My dad used to say, “squeakey wheels get greased” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Jim

  4. June 17, 2009 1:53 pm

    Jim, I just got off the phone with Jeff at Big People, and I will be picking the GTS up on Saturday! Apparently, the problem was with the ignition coil (or at least that’s what Piaggio told Jeff), so they’ve fitted a new one. Of course, I’ll let y’all know what happens…

  5. Jim permalink
    June 17, 2009 2:45 pm

    YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have got my fingers crossed for you!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.