Skip to content

Only 53 degrees and sunny?

April 24, 2009
The GTS, exposed

Ever wonder what's under the legshield trim? (Orin O'Neill photos)

I was in the neighborhood, so I thought I’d swing by Big People and see how the GTS is doing.

As you can see, it’s still waiting for a new throttle body. Where does the part have to come from, I ask Joe. “Italy,” he replies. From there, it’ll go to Atlanta, then here. *Sigh!*

I was secretly hoping the quirk in my cell phone that occasionally results in a call going directly to voice mail, then disappearing into the ether for three or four days, had happened here. No, it’s more likely the part is on a really slow boat, because the Atlanta/Seattle leg is a quick one.

Oh, well. I still have the PX. We’ve been riding around, and have spotted interesting stuff.

Honda Trail 90

This Honda Trail 90 can often be found cruising Alki Avenue on sunny days and evenings. Couldn’t find the owner, however, though he dresses head to toe in matching black leather. Honda sold lots of Trail 90s in these parts, during the heyday of camping/outdoor activity.

P200E in Bartell's parking lot

This nice P200E was in Bartell Drugs’ parking lot. I don’t recall ever seeing it on California Avenue, but there are lots of shortcuts to the various corners of West Seattle. As you can see, a scooter fits rather nicely into Bartell’s tiny parking lot.

Scooter parked at Bartell Drugs

If you pass by the PCC at California and Stevens, you’ll probably see this group of scooters. These riders are hardcore, the scoots parked in the unused spaces no matter what the weather. Well, okay, they didn’t ride during the Snopocalypse.

PCC scooter parking

The rider of the pink Buddy dresses in a head-to-toe pink ensemble. You’ll have no trouble spotting her. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. Ken permalink
    April 27, 2009 2:00 am

    Now I am just a poor old PX/Classic Vespista (unreformed), but all those gubbins under the bonnet fill me with fear and dread! With such an ignorance of modern scooter development, it can come as no surprise to you that I cannot fathom why they have stripped the panels off the leg shield compartment and floor to replace the throttle body which I thought controlled the air flow into the engine. No wonder you can’t fix these on the side of the road!
    I need some educating.

  2. Leo Urbis permalink
    April 27, 2009 5:31 am

    Is it usual for people to leave their helmets on their scooters/ motorcycles where you live? The first two pics have their helmets on their bikes, which I would never do! Is this a Seattle phonomenon?

  3. April 27, 2009 10:27 am

    Ken, my guess would be the troubleshooting chain goes something like this: emergency cutoff (the red switch on the right), ignition switch, ignition immobilizer, then on to the engine. BPS said the electronic diagnostic tool showed nothing wrong aside from a bad spark plug. I’m going to guess the throttle body has an electronic module that feeds the throttle position to the computer. Just like Boeing doesn’t paint the airplanes until they’ve test-flown them, I imagine the guys at BPS want to be sure everything under the legshieid trim is A-OK before putting the pieces back. I know getting them off is a major pain.

    Leo, once I overcame my initial paranoia with the ET4, I stopped locking the rear wheel (it being 240 lbs. and having an ignition immobilzer). Same deal with the helmet. My helmets (I have managed to accumulate four of them) are relatively inexpensive and kinda banged up (I’m about due for a new full-face, which may be replaced by a modular one), so I can’t imagine any but the most addled tweaker or crack-head being interested in stealing them. The guys who ride the crotch rockets (they have much more expensive helmets) don’t secure them, either, and they don’t seem to have any problems. But then, West Seattle is a mostly upscale neighborhood, so people who need motorcycle helmets can probably afford to buy them…

Comments are closed.