Skip to content

Going beyond Honda emblems

September 24, 2008
GTS transmission case

Orin O'Neill photo

I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Some miscreant stole the chrome (-plated plastic) cap from the GTS’ transmission case!

It gets parked about a block from West Seattle High School. The cap is quite easily removed if you have a screwdriver or a Swiss Army knife. But still. I don’t notice any of the high school kids wearing ornate necklaces with Honda or VW badges, so why pinch a Vespa transmission cap?

I don’t guess going without one is the end of the world, unless you frequently ride through puddles. The cap covers a hole that exposes the nut holding the centrifugal clutch and engine-side variator to the output shaft.

But it’s best to assume the people who design things have a good reason for putting a cover over something. Luckily, the GTS shares its engine/transmission with a bunch of other bikes, so if you don’t want GTS-standard shiny chrome (which is what I’m guessing attracted the perp in the first place), you can get black or painted silver. I got the latter. Just line up the bosses with the holes, give it a couple good whacks with the heel of your hand, and you’re good to go.

Such is life in the big city. Here’s hoping the bike doesn’t get tagged. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. Jack Monaghan permalink
    September 25, 2008 5:10 pm

    This might restore your faith in humanity. Mark Selzer the current President of The Minions was riding back from Inland Invasion on HWY 95 doing about 65 MPH 50 yards ahead of me on his 2006 GTS (coincidentaly black like yours). Suddenly I saw something flip up from the back of his bike and skid across the highway into the weeds on the side of the road. I thought he had ran over something and since we had about 50 miles to go, didn’t stop to see what it was. Upon arriving back in Spokane we discovered that his cover was gone. Mark had noticed that it was “loose” but hadn’t thought it would fly off. We now know that if it doesnt fit snug, under higher speeds air gets under it and it flys off like a Frisbee. I suspect this is what happened to you and apparently lots of others as I see that Scooter West now has them for sale. (Must be due to increased demand.) Hope you don’t have to hire any armed guards up there!

  2. September 26, 2008 8:55 am

    Joe at Big People mentioned this, too. But as far as I could tell, the original cover wasn’t loose. And you’ll notice some marks on the transmission case that would be consistent with the use of something to pry it off.

    The new, painted silver cover was a very snug fit, so I’m not too terribly worried about it falling off. I did notice one of the bosses on the cover had a notch in it, and my experience building model cars and IKEA furniture told me to tip that one in first, in such a way for the notch to fit over the edge of the hole. I then lined up the other two bosses with their respective holes and whacked the cover a couple times. If you don’t want to use your hand, a rubber mallet will do.

    It’s interesting that the cover sold by Motorsport Scooters/Scooterwest comes with three rubber grommets for mounting. The painted one had no such pieces.

    The new cover is still there, but if this one disappears, the plan is to take a Sharpie and draw holes in the appropriate places on the replacement, so a perp looking from a distance will think the cover is missing…

  3. October 5, 2008 6:59 pm

    It’s still there! Oh, and I discovered the various covers fit all modern Vespas…

Comments are closed.