Skip to content

Happy Labo(u)r Day Weekend: the wrapup

September 2, 2008

That was a long trip. I’m still recovering. You’ll recall the point was to see how little money one can spend by taking a road trip on one’s scooter. Results after the jump.

Lodging, two nights: $199.00
Distance covered: 604 miles (982 km)
Gas cost: $32.01
Gas used: 7.711 gal (29.186 liters)

The PX needs premium, which sold for upwards $4.25/gal. I got a bit lost in Longview; had I not, I’d be willing to bet the total mileage would’ve been right at 600. I didn’t include the cost of food because I don’t eat much differently on a trip like this than I would at home. I noticed a local fraternal lodge in Seaside was advertising something that looked like a Saturday prime rib dinner, but I was walking back to the motel after having eaten, so I didn’t pursue it. You can save a bunch of money on food this way. Especially pancake feeds.

Lodging might have been cheaper had I made advance reservations online, but the idea was to wing it. In Europe, Bed & Breakfast (B&B) is cheap and cheerful, but in the U.S. it can be eye-wateringly expensive (though quite luxurious).

Washington does not require insurance on motorcycles and scooters, but Oregon does. Check on this before you leave, because being caught without insurance can be unpleasant.

Rick Steves’ admonition to pack light applies even more here. I have a waterproof green duffle that I fill with stuff (especially soft stuff), in a way that makes it a good backrest when lashed to the seat with a bungee net. That, and a few things in the top case, are all I take. I may sound like a broken record, but I wouldn’t mind having a GT or GTS for these kinda trips—the underseat pet-cooker would be handy, and the big bike more easily accommodates a big top case. They get better gas mileage, too. And they’re much more comfortable.

But if a big bike dies on you, you’ll need to call AAA and hope there’s a Vespa dealer close by. You can work on a PX yourself. Just make sure you have all the tools you’re likely to need. Favicon

6 Comments
  1. September 2, 2008 8:19 pm

    Orin, looks and sounds like you had a good trip. Welcome home.

  2. September 3, 2008 10:17 am

    Thanks, Chuck. Somehow, I managed to omit miles per gallon… that would be 78.33 (604 miles ÷ 7.711 gallons). For metric fans, that’s 3 liters/100 km (235 ÷ 78.33)

  3. Baron's Life permalink
    September 3, 2008 2:16 pm

    Have enjoyed reading your trip report… very interesting…I could almost visualize the places you were at….
    BTW….Love your GPS system

  4. Gus permalink
    September 5, 2008 10:29 am

    Orin,

    Sounds like you had an adventurous weekend. Loved following along in my comfy chair while you went out and fought the cars and weather.
    “Tiki-Rama & Lushy Rush” next weekend?

    Gus

  5. September 5, 2008 11:35 am

    “Adventurous.” Yes, most definitely. Tiki-Rama & Lushy Rush, ‘fraid not. But here’s the info for you, dear reader, if you can make it. Friday, Sept. 12 at the Hula-Hula Lounge at 1st & Denny, which is a hop and a skip from Vespa Seattle. That poster is so cool! Hope someone’s thinking about printing up a bunch…

  6. September 7, 2008 8:04 pm

    Gotta love that old-skool GPS—simple, yet reliable, and no batteries required.—Lorenzo

Comments are closed.