Skip to content

Staycation all I never wanted

August 23, 2008

Is “staycation” really a word?

Apparently it has been for lots of people who usually take lengthy road trips during the summer. If it costs over 60 bucks to fill the Escape’s gas tank, I can’t imagine feeding a Suburban or full-size pickup, especially with an RV attached.

But I have a scooter and I’m not afraid to use it.

A change in schedule has resulted in a free Labo(u)r Day weekend, weekends that in the past saw 3-day road trips to exotic locales like Calgary, Alta., Salt Lake City, Utah and Helena, Mont. As you may have guessed, these trips were more about the journey than the destination.

The PX and I will be off to Oregon on a 3-day journey of discovery and wonderment. The plan is to hit Astoria the first day, loop around through Tillamook and McMinnville on the second, and take most of the STP route home. (Click on the links for world-famous Scootin’ Old Skool maps)

When doing these journeys in the car, the point was to go somewhere I’d never been. I’ll mostly be able to do that here, though much of this trip will be on semi-familiar territory.

Also unlike the car sojourns, you can come along! I’ll be catching the 8:35 am ferry to Southworth on Saturday, Aug. 30. From there, we’ll get where we’re going when we get there—opportunities for interesting diversions will be taken full advantage of.

If you have suggestions for places to eat or things to see on the way, leave a comment below. This should be fun! Favicon

One Comment
  1. August 24, 2008 3:41 pm

    Orin, sounds like a fun ride. I do hope the weather is cooperative. Rubber side down, man, and enjoy yourself.

Comments are closed.