Skip to content

Say again why you live here?

August 17, 2008
Sunset from Alki Beach

Orin O'Neill photos

Sometimes, smog can be a good thing.

Saturday saw near-record high temperatures and near-unhealthy air quality (first time since 1992), things that send Seattleites in droves to Alki Beach. Some go for the sunsets, which smog can enhance tremendously.

I often made the arduous trek from Queen Anne Hill, on the awful pavement of East Marginal Way and Spokane Street, to watch sunsets like these. Or eat fish & chips at Spud’s. Or both. Or neither. There are lots of other things to do in West Seattle.

Now that I live here, Alki is a short jaunt down the hill. Of course, the PX’s small form factor means parking ceases to be an issue.

Sunsets are not the only primo views.

Downtown Seattle, from Alki Avenue 

Seattle is one of those cities you just can’t stop looking at from a distance (San Francisco and Hong Kong are two others), and Alki affords a wonderful viewpoint, especially after dark.

The sunset isn’t the only visual treat on the western horizon.

Bainbridge, the Kitsap Peninsula and the Olympic Mountains

You can see Bainbridge Island, Vashon Island, the Kitsap Peninsula and the Olympic Mountains, which are not as close as you might think—the same optical illusion resulting from heat and humidity that sometimes makes Mt. Rainier seem like it’s right next door is at work here as well.

Of course, Alki Beach is significant for more than just great views.

The Alki landing monument

Alki Beach is where the Denny Party landed, founding what we now know as Seattle. You’ll find this monument west of the miniature Statue of Liberty.

Someone's nice P200E

Of course, how you get to Alki Beach is up to you. But I’m kinda partial to this way: Favicon

4 Comments
  1. August 17, 2008 7:14 pm

    The weather up here has also been fantastic lately. I just wished I’d made my scooter trip to Seattle in this weather.

    I must say, after staying downtown, really enjoyed your city. There are lots of pretty places and the people are very decent. It’s much better than the impression I used to have as a kid, going through a bunch of concrete overpasses/underpasses on the I-5. It really is a nice place!

  2. Jack Monaghan permalink
    August 18, 2008 6:42 pm

    I’ve been on vacation the last 10 days. Did I miss something? The picture looks like a vintage P200. Did you get a new bike or was this someone else’s? As a fellow PX 150 owner I would hate to think you traded up. What gives?

  3. August 19, 2008 11:07 am

    Jack, that’s someone else’s P200. It’s a nice looking bike, and I’m guessing this one belongs to a guy named Brent, who lives in West Seattle and comes to the occasional rally.

    While I would love to have a P200E, I wouldn’t trade the PX to get one. Especially since it has almost 18K miles on it. “That’s a lot of miles,” prospective buyers would say. To which I would reply, “what’s your point?”

  4. August 19, 2008 4:48 pm

    I do miss those western sunsets. I miss clear views of Rainer even more.

Comments are closed.