Skip to content

And so this is Easter

March 23, 2008
Krishnas marching on Broadway

Orin O'Neill photos

The weather on Saturday was wonderful. Sunny and warm, just right for a ride. I was set to meet Kat(t), but I was quite early, so I stopped at the Starbucks to have an Izze clementine soda and read the Advance Edition of the Sunday paper. The beating of drums became louder and louder, so I put down the paper to see what was going on. You don’t see this kind of thing on Queen Anne Hill.

After a stop at Big People to pick up a very small part for Kat(t)’s GTS, we rode to Alki, a place we both like to go in spite of the absolutely awful pavement on Spokane Street. Safety Ed has had surgery to remove the metal from his arm, so he has once again entrusted the GT to me. “Now you can keep up with me,” she said. Had I not picked up the GT just a few hours before, I would’ve proposed riding on the high-level West Seattle Bridge. But this time, it’s the surface street.

Alki Avenue is a favorite cruising place. You can tell by the “No Cruising” signs tacked to light posts. Sunny days like this bring out 2-wheelers of all shapes and sizes, especially sportbikes (or if you prefer, crotch rockets).

Sportbikes on Alki

We stopped at Tully’s, then walked west toward Alki Point, where the lighthouse is located, past the monument marking the landing of the Denny Party in 1851. The monument was erected in 1951, on the 100th anniversary of the event that marked the beginning of modern Seattle. No, there’s no picture. Sorry.

Kat(t) wanted to see the house with the blue glass.

The house with all the blue glass

I must admit, I’ve never paid close attention to this house, in spite of having walked or ridden by it countless times. Seeing it up close, it is very apparent the owner likes blue glass. All shades of blue are represented in bottles, tiles, mosaic, what have you. The house is modest, a small dwelling that probably dates back to the 1920s when a streetcar line ran here.

Katt taking pix of blue glass

Kat(t) teases me about taking pictures of her taking pictures. But the creative process is something I find interesting, and like to document when I can. She said, “this is going to end up on your Web site.” And so it did.

Something we talk about a lot is her recent arrival in Seattle vs. my status as a native and longtime resident. I must admit, I am quite puzzled when I go to places like London and Paris, and people say to me, “you’re from Seattle?!” Seattle is, and always has been, a thoroughly pleasant, though unremarkable (to me, anyway) city of half a million. Yes, the location is beautiful, but there are other places where this is true (Vancouver, B.C. for one). Unless you’re coming here to work at Microsoft, or in biotech, there seems to me not to be that much of an attraction.

But then there are newcomers like Kat(t), who see things you can overlook if you’ve been around darn near forever, as I have. Her photographer’s eye and sense of discovery have served to remind me of my early times riding a scooter and going on group rides, where there was always something new waiting around a corner, in a place I’d never thought to look. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. March 23, 2008 4:29 pm

    Curious, Orin … where in relation to the lighthouse is the blue glass house? Or and address would even be better. Must admit I’ve not seen this one.

  2. March 23, 2008 4:36 pm

    The blue glass house is west of the Denny Party monument and east of the lighthouse, on Alki Avenue. It’s not readily apparent if you’re riding or driving by, but you’ll see it if you walk by it.

  3. March 23, 2008 6:20 pm

    I’ve always liked Seattle to visit, though it’s too cold, too gray and too damp to live there. The mixture of still waters, distant mountains and varied terrain in between makes it attractive. Plus its a city that enjoys a reputation for knowing how to live well…all of which makes your ennui and rather curmudgeonly tone the more appealing. Much more fun to be gruff about a place evetyone else likes. Someone has to keep the SLUT in her place!

  4. March 24, 2008 2:39 pm

    Well, as Robyn Hitchcock so eloquently stated, “We’ve got the best computers and coffee and smack.”

Comments are closed.