Skip to content

Sit right down

February 3, 2008

I guess I’m lucky. Seats on Vespas and Stellas fit me perfectly. The seat height is just right, the shape of the seat fits my tush to a T. Am I aware of my glutes on a ride to Portland or Bellingham? Nope.

Others aren’t so lucky. New Vespas in particular have rather high seats, which prevent some riders from being able to place their feet flat on the ground when stopped. Some people just use their toes, some women wear platform shoes or boots when they ride.

Corbin makes seats for modern Vespas and other scooters, and they’re an easy swap for the stock seat. But Corbin’s seats are all the same size and shape.

In Seattle, lots of riders go to Rich’s Custom Seats. Rich is the Michaelangelo, the da Vinci of motorcycle seats. You will be measured on your bike, and your stock seat will be handcrafted into a work of art that will fit you perfectly, and get your feet closer to the ground to boot.

Maryvu’s new Stella

Maryvu had her new Stella’s seat customized. It’s absolutely goregeous, and looks like it came from the factory. Click on the picture to see a photo album documenting the process.

You’ll notice that Maryvu opted for a gel insert (that’s the sheet of orange stuff that looks like Fruit Leather). I sat on the seat, and didn’t really notice much difference from a regular Stella seat (which is quite hard). But she does, and that’s what counts. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. February 3, 2008 11:49 pm

    Wow! I didn’t look closely at that seat today. The photos tell the story, though. Rich does a great job in his shop and I suspect Mary will be as happy with her seat as I am with mine. Feet on the ground when stopped is really a GOOD thing! -:)

  2. February 4, 2008 10:17 am

    I knew I’d eventually find a benefit to having a 36″ inseam. 🙂

  3. February 4, 2008 7:01 pm

    Man, the saddle on my Vespa has the comfort of a doug fir 2 x 6. On my future trip to the “city,” I’ll have to make it a point to visit Rich’s.

    Have fun,
    Bill

  4. February 5, 2008 7:27 pm

    Fortunately, Mary had the presence of mind to grab the seat before the wrecker hauled her Stella away…

Comments are closed.