Skip to content

I swear this is true

December 13, 2007
Honda Silver Wing

Honda Silver Wing

The other day, I was at Fred Meyer, loading up the PX with the groceries I’d purchased, when a Honda Silver Wing pulled into a leftover half-circle in the parking lot.

I was in my usual place near the bike rack (“sir, you need to park your moped with the bicycles,” a FM employee had once solemnly told me). The Silver Wing rider lowered the sidestand and got off.

This guy was wearing a gray armored jacket and leather chaps. I wouldn’t be surprised if he were wearing a biker bandana under his helmet, but he never took the helmet off. Suddenly, the strains of Bon Jovi’s Wanted Dead Or Alive played in my head… along with a laugh track.

Mr. Silver Wing heads for the entrance, then stops and looks at me. And laughs.

“When are you gonna get a real bike?” he sneers.

Dude, my question would be, when are you?

4 Comments
  1. December 13, 2007 11:38 am

    People will never understand. Good. More cool scooters for us.

    Maxiscooters are the lameness. Nothing beats revving out a 150 at reasonable speeds. What fun is is if you can’t max it out pretty much all the time?

    Bb.

  2. Joe permalink
    December 13, 2007 1:21 pm

    You should have said it, Orin. Thinking about it when you get home doesn’t get your point across to the dude in leather chaps.

  3. Gordon permalink
    December 13, 2007 4:10 pm

    A Silver Wing rider laughs at a Vespa? That’s like a Honda Accord driver laughing at a Volkswagen. With one sentence he’s demonstrated he knows nothing about Vespa, scooter history, or his own bike.

    It’s nice when people make it easy to judge them fairly as idiots.

  4. December 14, 2007 7:43 am

    Assclowns like that are here to be laughed at by general population. Judged not by what he rides, but who his attitude lets him be. I wish I would have been there.

    Have fun,
    Bill

Comments are closed.